Ayala Wins 125 Title at UNI Open

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – Sophomore Drake Ayala won the 125-pound bracket to highlight the University of Iowa wrestling team’s day on Saturday at the UNI Open at the UNI-Dome. The Hawkeyes had four wrestlers post top three finishes in the tournament.

Ayala, who was making his season debut and wrestling unattached, posted a pair of major decision victories to win the three-man round robin bracket. He outscored the two opponents 27-9, posting victories over Caleb Fuessley of Iowa State, 16-6, and UNI’s Trever Anderson, 11-3.

Iowa also had two unattached wrestlers finish as runner ups in redshirt freshman Caleb Rathjen and junior Zach Glazier. Rathjen posted a decision and major decision in his first two matches before falling, 4-2, in the 157-pound championship bout against Iowa State’s Jason Kraisser.

Glazier advanced to the finals with a 14-4 major decision over Iowa State’s Adam Ahrendson and a 4-2 decision over UNI’s Kalob Runyon. The Panthers’ Wyatt Voelker won the 197-pound bracket via a forfeit in the finals’ bout.

The Hawkeyes also got a third-place finish from Jace Rhodes at 133, as the freshman posted a 2-2 record, a fourth place showing from Jesse Ybarra at 133 and sixth place finish from freshman Easton Fleshman at 285.

The second-ranked Hawkeyes will wrestle tonight at Chattanooga, facing the Mocs at 6 p.m. (CT) from McKenzie Arena. The dual will be streamed live on ESPN+.

125 Bracket
Drake Ayala (UI-UNA) major dec. Caleb Fuessley (ISU), 16-6
Drake Ayala (UI-UNA) major dec. Trever Anderson (UNI), 11-3 – First Place

133 Bracket
Jace Rhodes (UI) dec. Cory Land (UNI), 4-0
Julian Farber (UNI) dec. Jace Rhodes (UI), 7-2
Jace Rhodes (UI) dec. Jesse Ybarra (UI), 1-0
Evan Frost (ISU) dec. Jace Rhodes (UI), 8-1 — Third Place

Julian Farber (UNI) dec. Jesse Ybarra (UI), 8-4
Evan Frost (ISU) dec. Jesse Ybarra, 8-4
Jesse Ybarra (UI) dec. Cory Land (UNI), 12-8
Jace Rhodes (UI) dec. Jesse Ybarra (UI), 1-0 – Fourth Place

157 Bracket
Cam Robinson (ISU-UNA) dec. Carter Martinson (UI), 6-2
Carter Martinson (UI) major dec. Rafael Romero (MIZZOU), 12-2
Carter Martinson (UI) dec. Evan Yant (UNI), 6-3
RJ Weston (UNI) dec. Carter Martinston (UI), 4-0

Caleb Rathjen (UI-UNA) dec. Evan Yant (UNI), 7-3
Caleb Rathjen (UI-UNA) major dec. Isaac Judge (ISU-UNA), 11-3
Jason Kraisser (ISU-UNA) dec. Caleb Rathjen (UI-UNA), 4-2 — Second Place

174 Bracket
Manny Rojas (ISU-UNA) dec. Jude Link (UI), 3-1
Carson Babcock (UNI) dec. Jude Link (UI), 3-2

197 Bracket
Zach Glazier (UI-UNA) major dec. Adam Ahrendson (UNI), 14-4
Zach Glazier (UI-UNA) dec. Kalob Runyon (UNI), 4-3
Wyatt Voelker (UNI) wins by forfeit over Zach Glazier (UI-UNA) – Second place

285 Bracket
Seth Nitzel (MIZZOU) major dec. Gage Marty (UI), 10-0
Cole Gripka (MIZZOU) dec. Gage Marty (UI), 5-3

Easton Fleshman (UI) def. Chet Buss (UNI), MFF
Bowen McConville (SD State) dec. Easton Fleshman (UI), 6-0
Luke Rasmussen (SD State) dec. Easton Fleshman (UI), 6-0
John Gunderson (UNI) dec. Easton Fleshman (UI), 6-1 – Sixth Place