Ayala Wins Don Parker Open Title

EAU CLAIRE, Wisconsin – University of Iowa wrestler Drake Ayala (133) claimed his third open title on Saturday at the Don Parker Open. The Hawkeye sophomore previously won the Pat “Flash” Flanagan Open and UNI Open.

Iowa also got a runner-up finish from Kolby Franklin (197). Caleb Rathjen (149) also competed at the open. All three Hawkeyes competing were wrestling unattached.

Ayala bonused his way to the 133-pound championship match with two technical falls and a major decision before posting a 5-1 decision over Wisconsin’s Nicolar Rivera in the finals.

Franklin used two decisions and a major decision to make his way to the finals at 197-pounds. In finals Roman Rogotzke (South Dakota State) won by decision over Franklin, 12-7.

The Hawkeyes return to action Friday, hosting Michigan at 8 p.m. (CT) at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The dual will be televised live on BTN.

133 Bracket
Drake Ayala (UI-UNA) Tech. Fall Matthew Chi (Wisconsin-Parkside), 20-5
Drake Ayala (UI-UNA) Tech. Fall Justin Fortugno (UW-Whitewater), 25-10
Drake Ayala (UI-UNA) Major Dec. Robby Horsman (St. Cloud State), 18-7
Drake Ayala (UI-UNA) Dec. Nicolar Rivera (Wisconsin), 5-1

149 Bracket
Daniel Sheen (Wisconsin) Inj. Default Caleb Rathjen (UI-UNA), 2:14
Jalin Conner (Bryant & Stratton) MFF Caleb Rathjen (Iowa)

197 Bracket
Kolby Franklin (UI-UNA) Major Dec. Jordan Lewis (UW-Whitewater), 14-5
Kolby Franklin (UI-UNA) Dec. Spencer Mooberry (North Dakota State), 3-2
Kolby Franklin (UI-UNA) Dec. Cody Donnelly (South Dakota State), 6-4
Roman Rogotzke (South Dakota State) Dec. Kolby Franklin (Iowa), 12-7