Hawkeyes Go 5-2 in Session III at B1Gs

ANN ARBOR, Mich. – The University of Iowa wrestling team went 5-2 during Session III of the Big Ten Championships on Sunday afternoon at the Crisler Center.

The Hawkeyes had two wrestlers – Max Murin (149) and Tony Cassioppi (285) – win their consolation semifinals to advance to third place matches and three – Brody Teske (133), Cobe Siebrecht (157) and Abe Assad (184) – win to finish seventh.

Iowa’s Nelson Brands (174) and Jacob Warner (197) both lost sudden victory bouts in the consolation semifinals and will now wrestle for fifth place later today. Brands fell to Minnesota’s Bailee O’Reilly and Warner to Maryland’s Jaxon Smith, both by 3-1 decisions.

Murin advanced to the third-place bout courtesy of an injury default victory over Northwestern’s Yahya Thomas at 149 and Cassioppi had a takedown in sudden victory to post a 4-2 win over Lucas Davison of Northwestern.

Iowa went 3-for-3 in seventh place bouts with Teske posting an 8-4 decision over Rutgers’ seventh-seeded Joe Heilmann, Siebrecht using an escape and ride out in the third to win 2-0 over Indiana’s Derek Gilcher and Assad won by medical forfeit against Michigan State’s Layne Malczewski.

The Hawkeyes are second in the team standings with 119.5 points heading into the final session. Penn State leads the team race with 129.0 points, while Nebraska is third with 97.5 points.

Finals, third place and fifth place matches will begin at 3:30 p.m. (CT). Finals matches will be televised live on BTN, while other placement matches will be on B1G+.

Consolation Results
133 – #8 Brody Teske (UI) dec. #7 Joe Heilmann (RU), 8-4 – 7th place
149 – #4 Max Murin (UI) injury def. #3 Yahya Thomas (NU), 1:42
157 – #5 Cobe Siebrecht (UI) dec. #10 Derek Gilcher (IU), 2-0 – 7th place
174 – #4 Bailee O’Reilly (MINN) dec. #7 Nelson Brands (UI), 3-1 (SV1)
184 – #5 Abe Assad (UI) wins medical forfeit #6 Layne Malczewski (MSU) — 7th place
197 – #6 Jaxon Smith (MD) dec. #5 Jacob Warner (UI), 3-1 (SV1)
285 – #3 Tony Cassioppi (UI) dec. #4 Lucas Davison (NU), 4-2 (SV1)

Finals Matchups
125 – #1 Spencer Lee (UI) vs. #2 Liam Cronin (NEB)
141 – #1 Real Woods (UI) vs. #3 Brock Hardy (NEB)
165 – #3 Patrick Kennedy (UI) vs. #1 Dean Hamiti (UW)

Consolation Matchups
149 – #4 Max Murin (UI) vs. #5 Shayne Van Ness (PSU) – 3rd place/4th place
174 – #7 Nelson Brands (UI) vs. #5 Edmond Ruth (ILL) – 5th place/6th place
197 – #5 Jacob Warner (UI) vs. Cameron Caffey (MSU) – 5th place/6th place
285 – #3 Tony Cassioppi (UI) vs. Tate Orndorff (OSU) — 3rd place/4th place