Hawkeyes Defeat Nebraska in Big Ten Opener

LINCOLN, Neb. – The third-ranked University of Iowa men’s wrestling team picked up their 15th-straight win over sixth-ranked Nebraska on Friday evening in the Devaney Center. The Hawkeyes defeated the Huskers, 22-9. Iowa finished with one bonus point win and six ranked victories.      

“These guys are taking anything that’s thrown at them,” said head coach Tom Brands. “They know it is an important time of the year, getting closer and closer to the postseason, and they keep getting better. They get tougher when it is a tough situation, that is what we love about them and that is what they love about the sport.”   

No. 5 Drake Ayala opened the dual at 125 with a win over No. 7 Caleb Smith, via 7-3 decision. Ayala, who moved up nine spots in the latest rankings, recorded two takedowns in the first period and an escape in the third, while only allowing Smith three points via escape.    

No.7 Brody Teske fell via decision, 10-4, to No. 30 Jacob Van Dee at 133 after a tough fight through the six minutes.   

With the dual tied at 3-3 going into 141, No. 1 Real Woods put the team back in the lead with an 8-2 decision over No. 7 Brock Hardy. Woods secured two takedowns and an escape, as well as being awarded a point for riding time to cap off the match.    

Moving to 149, No. 12 Caleb Rathjen battled but fell via decision, 6-0, to No. 1 Ridge Lovett.    

The dual score was tied at 6-6 entering the last match before intermission. With a takedown and two escapes, No. 2 Jared Franek downed No. 3 Peyton Robb at 157, via a close decision, 5-4.    

“Coming in we knew it was going to be a big match, for both me and the team, he’s a common opponent I’ve seen before, and getting a win like that in the middle of the year, and starting the Big Ten duals feels good” said Franek. “There has been a lot of areas in my game that I feel I didn’t capitalize on out there, so a lot of improvements to make.”  

In the second half of the night, the Hawkeyes won four of the five matches, starting with a bonus point win. No. 7 Michael Caliendo notched an 8-3 decision over No. 19 Antrell Taylor at 165, with the help of two takedowns, one escape, and riding time.    

Rolling into 174, Patrick Kennedy defeated No. 30 Bubba Wilson, despite Wilson taking the first points of the match. Kennedy recorded a 9-5 win via decision, after securing a late escape and takedown in the third period.     

Nebraska earned its third win of the night at 184, with Aiden Riggins falling to No. 3 Lenny Pinto due to an 18-5 major decision.    

At 197, No. 16 Zach Glazier upset reigning Big Ten Champion No. 11 Sillas Allred. Glazier racked up 11 points via three takedowns, an escape, and the addition of riding time. Glazier’s victory gave Iowa the 19-10 lead going into the final bout of the night.       

“Going out there it’s just calm, cool, and collected” said Zach Glazier after being asked about his mentality going in to the deciding match. “Moving my hands, moving my feet, wrestle hard, and just being thankful to be out there lets me, let it fly. The biggest thing I can do for myself is just relax and let it fly.”   

“I give him full credit” said head coach Tom Brands when asked about Glazier. “He is undefeated, he takes care of business, he loves life and the sport, and he is a hard worker.”      

Ending the night at 285, Bradley Hill created a victory out of his matchup against Nash Hutchmaker. Hill recorded a 4-1 decision victory, notching a takedown and an escape.    

Of Note…   

  1. Zach Glazier moves his undefeated record up to 14-0.    
  2. The Hawkeyes recorded 13 takedowns and 18 escapes, topping Nebraska’s 11 takedowns and 16 escapes.    
  3. Drake Ayala now has six ranked wins on the season.   
  4. Iowa now extends its all-time winning lead over Nebraska to 36-10.    

#3 Iowa 22, #6 Nebraska 10 
125 – #5 Drake Ayala (I) dec. #7 Caleb Smith (N), 7-3
133 – #30 Jacob Van Dee (N) dec. #7 Brody Teske (I), 10-4
141 – #1 Real Woods (I) dec. #7 Brock Hardy (N), 8-2
149 – #1 Ridge Lovett (N) dec. #12 Caleb Rathjen (I), 6-0
157 – #2 Jared Franek (I) dec. #3 Peyton Robb (N), 5-4
165 – #7 Michael Caliendo (I) dec. #19 Antrell Taylor (N), 8-3
174 – Patrick Kennedy (I) dec. #30 Bubba Wilson (N), 9-5
184 – #3 Lenny Pinto (N) major dec. Aiden Riggins (I), 18-5
197 – #16 Zach Glazier (I) major dec. #11 Sillas Allred (N), 11-2
285 – Bradley Hill (I) vs. Nash Hutchmacher (N), 4-1

Attendance: 5,208
Officials: Peter Mankowich, Angel Rivera