Brecht and Obermueller Named to Pitcher of the Year Watch List

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior right-handed pitcher Brody Brecht and sophomore left-handed pitcher Cade Obermueller were named to the College Baseball Foundation Pitcher of the Year Award Watch List.

The Pitcher of the Year award, college baseball’s version of the Cy Young Award, was created in 2009, and is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate pitcher. The initial watch list headlines 54 of the most talented pitchers in Division I college baseball.

Brecht has a 4.12 ERA and a 1-2 record. He has recorded 84 strikeouts in 48 innings pitched. The Ankeny, Iowa, native leads the Big Ten in strikeouts and ranks eighth in the nation, and he is first in the Big Ten and third in the nation in strikeouts per nine innings (15.75).

Obermueller has tallied a 3.75 ERA in 48 innings pitched. He has 56 strikeouts while allowing an opponent batting average of .182. The Iowa City, Iowa, native has a 3-2 record in 10 starts for Iowa. He ranks 15th in the nation with 5.63 hits allowed per nine innings.

The Hawkeyes face Nebraska tonight at 6:05 p.m. (CT) as part of a three-game series against Nebraska April 26-28.