Iowa To Compete at Kaufman-Brand Open

Nov. 17, 2003

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Iowa will send several wrestlers to compete at the annual Kaufman-Brand Open Saturday in Omaha, NE. The tournament is scheduled to start at 9 a.m. and will be held in Sapp Fieldhouse on the University of Nebraska-Omaha campus. Complete results will be available after the tournament’s completion at

The Hawkeyes crowned four champions at the 2002 Kaufman-Brand Open. In the open division, seniors Matt Anderson (157) and Jessman Smith (184) and sophomore Steve Mocco (Hwt.) each won individual titles, while freshman Todd Meneely (133) won a title in the 20-and-under division. It was the first career titles for Anderson and Meneely, and the second for Smith and Mocco. Mocco defeated Arizona State’s Kellan Fluckiger, 9-1, in the finals after pinning his three previous opponents in a total of seven minutes. Other placewinners for the Hawkeyes included junior Tyler Nixt (174-2nd), senior Luke Moffitt (141-3rd), redshirt freshman Ty Eustice (149-3rd), redshirt freshman Joe Johnston (157-3rd), sophomore Matt Shankey (125-4th) in the open division and freshman Ryan Fuller (Hwt.-2nd) in the 20-and-under division.

The Hawkeyes opened the 2003-04 season by crowning four individual champions at the Central Missouri State Open in Warrensburg, MO. Seniors Cliff Moore (141), Tyler Nixt (174) and Ryan Fulsaas (197), and sophomore Paul Bradley (184) were undefeated to earn tournament titles. Hawkeye sophomores Joe Johnston (157) and Cole Pape (165) placed second, while redshirt freshman Ryan Fuller (Hwt.) placed sixth.

HEAD COACH Jim Zalesky
Jim Zalesky is in his seventh season as head coach at the University of Iowa. He has a school and career record of 95-18 (.841). Named National Coach of the Year in 1998 and 1999, and Big Ten Coach of the Year in 2000, he has led the Hawkeyes to three NCAA (1998-00) and two Big Ten titles (1998, 2000). Zalesky has coached nine NCAA Champions, 19 Big Ten Champions and 32 all-Americans at Iowa. A three-time national champion and one of Iowa’s 15 four-time all-Americans, Zalesky was an assistant coach and head recruiter at Iowa under Dan Gable for seven seasons (1991-97). He was named Assistant Coach of the Year by the N.W.C.A. in 1992 and 1997. Undefeated his junior and senior seasons, Zalesky ended his career on an 89-match winning streak.

Season tickets and tickets for each of Iowa’s six home duals are available at the University of Iowa Athletic Ticket Office. Season tickets are $42 for general public and $36 for University faculty and staff. Tickets for each home dual are $8 for adults and $4 for students if purchased in advance; $10 for adults and $5 for students if purchased at the gate. Group tickets are available for all duals except Oklahoma State. They are $6 each for groups of 20-39 and $4 each for groups of 40 or more. Call 1-800-IA-HAWKS or 319-335-9327, or go online at to order.

Press releases, meet results and audio broadcasts of dual meets can be found throughout the season at

Carver-Hawkey Arena has been the home for Iowa wrestling since 1983. The Hawkeyes have a record of 136-9 (.938) in the arena, which includes a record 10 victories during the 1986 season. Iowa has recorded 16 undefeated seasons in the arena, with the most recent (8-0) occurring last year.The dual wrestling attendance record for Carver-Hawkeye Arena is 15,291, which was set when Iowa defeated Iowa State on February 22, 1992. The arena seats 15,500 for a dual wrestling meet. The Hawkeyes are scheduled to host the 2005 Big Ten Championships in Carver-Hawkeye.

Iowa’s overall dual meet record is 763-193-30 (.789) in 91 seasons. The Hawkeyes have won 20 national titles, including nine of the last 13, and 30 Big Ten titles. Iowa’s 46 NCAA Champions have won a total of 71 NCAA individual titles, crowning six three-time and 13 two-time champions. The Hawkeyes’ 98 Big Ten Champions have won a total of 179 conference individual titles. There have been seven four-time, 18 three-time and 24 two-time Iowa winners. Iowa’s 124 all-Americans have earned all-America status 250 times, including 16 four-time, 26 three-time and 30 two-time honorees.

Brothers Luke and Ty Eustice are the 10th set of brothers to wrestle together in the Hawkeye varsity lineup since the 1950s. The 10 other brother pairs were Don and Tom Huff (1961), Mark and Scott Trizzino (1981), Lenny, Larry and Jim Zalesky (1981-82), Ed and Lou Banach (1981-83), Marty and Lindley Kistler (1984-85), Jim and John Heffernan (1987), Tom and Terry Brands (1989-92), Troy and Terry Steiner (1991-93), and Ryan and Randy Fulsaas (2001).

Freshmen Ben and Brett Stedman are the fifth set of twins to wrestle for the University of Iowa. Ed and Lou Banach, Tom and Terry Brands, Troy and Terry Steiner and Randy and Ryan Fulsaas are the other four.

Several brother pairs have also had wrestling success at Iowa. The Banach’s and Brands’ each won Big Ten and NCAA titles the same year twice in their careers, and earned all-America honors three times. The Zalesky’s, Kistler’s and Steiner’s each earned all-America honors twice in their careers, with the Kistler’s winning Big Ten titles the same year twice and the Zalesky’s winning conference titles once. The Heffernan’s earned all-America honors in 1987.

The Hawkeye wrestling staff of Jim Zalesky, Tom Brands, Joe Williams, Royce Alger and Bill Zadick all wrestled at the University of Iowa. They earned a total of 12 NCAA titles, 12 Big Ten titles and 17 all-America honors. Their combined college career wrestling record is 637-48-6 (.926), including five undefeated seasons.