Iowa Defeats Indiana State, 4-3

TERRE HAUTE, IN — The Iowa men’s tennis team defeated Indiana State, 4-3. With the victory Iowa improves to 2-0 (0-0 Big Ten). Indiana State, predicted to win the Missouri Valley Conference this season also lost earlier in the day to Middle Tennessee State (5-2) falls to 0-2.

Iowa swept the doubles competition for the second straight time this season. The junior pair of Kyle Markham and Brett Taylor defeated Simon Thornewill and Aaron Phillips 8-4 in the No. 1 spot. Junior Chaitu Malempati and freshman Bart van Monsjou defeated the pair of Anton Tsymbalov and Rishi Behl 8-6 at the No. 2 spot. In the No. 3 match freshman J.P. Ritchie and junior Aaron Schachterle finished the sweep of doubles play by defeating Christopher Eldon and Will Moseley 8-4.

Iowa clinched the victory in singles play by winning three matches, highlighted by junior Chaitu Malempati defeating Anton Tsymbalov (4-6, 6-4, 6-3) at the No. 1 position to clinch the victory for the Hawkeyes. Freshman J.P. Ritchie also picked up a victory for the Hawkeyes at the No. 3 position. Ritchie defeated Simon Thornewill 6-0, 5-7, 6-2. The victory marked the second time this season Ritchie won both his singles and doubles match. At the No. 6 spot junior Brett Taylor defeated Will Moseley in straight sets 6-4, 7-5 to pick up the Hawkeyes third victory in singles play. Taylor has also won all of his singles and doubles matches during dual meet action this season.

Iowa will return to action tomorrow when they travel to Indianapolis, IN to compete against Butler. Competition will begin at 10 a.m.


Indiana State 3

No.1 Markham/Taylor (IOWA) def. Thornewill/Phillips (ISU) 8-4
No. 2 Malempati/van Monsjou (IOWA) def. Tsymbalov/Behl (ISU) 8-6
No. 3 Richie/Schaechterle (IOWA) def. Eldon/Moseley (ISU) 8-4

No. 1 Chaitu Malempati (IOWA) def. Anton Tsymbalov (ISU) 4-6, 6-4, 6-3
No. 2 Rishi Behl (ISU) def. Kyle Markham (IOWA) 6-3, 7-6
No. 3 J.P. Ritchie (IOWA) def. Simon Thornewill (ISU) 6-0, 5-7, 6-2
No. 4 Christopher Eldon (ISU) def. Bart van Monsjou (IOWA) 6-3, 7-5
No. 5 Aaron Phillips (ISU) def. Andrew Holm (IOWA) 6-4, 4-6, 6-4
No. 6 Brett Taylor (IOWA) def. Will Moseley (ISU) 6-4, 7-5