Hawkeyes Place Fourth

March 6, 2005

IOWA CITY, IA – The University of Iowa wrestling team placed fourth with 94.5 points at the 2005 Big Ten Championships in Iowa City. Illinois won the team title for the first time since 1952, scoring 130.0 points. Minnesota placed second with 123.5

Redshirt freshman Mark Perry was Iowa’s lone finalist. He placed second at 165 pounds, losing a close 6-5 decision to Michigan’s Ryan Churella in the finals. Also placing for Iowa were juniors Mario Galanakis (5th-133), Ty Eustice (3rd-149), Joe Johnston (3rd-149), Paul Bradley (4th-184) and Adam Fellers (8th-197) and freshmen Alex Tsirtsis (5th-141) and Matt Fields (5th-Hwt.). Iowa qualified seven wrestlers to the 2005 NCAA Championships, which will be held March 16-19 in St. Louis, MO.

Place Team Points
1. Illinois 130.0
2. Minnesota 123.5
3. Michigan 118.0
4. Iowa 94.5
5. Indiana 89.0
Wisconsin 89.0
7. Penn State 72.5
8. Michigan State 70.5
9. Northwestern 68.5
10. Purdue 38.5
11. Ohio State 26.5

Championship Finals
165 Ryan Churella (MICH) dec. Mark Perry (I), 6-5

Consolation Matches
133 Tom Clum (W) dec. Mario Galanakis (I), 5-3
133 Galanakis (I) dec. T.J. Enright (OSU), 5-4
141 Ryan Lang (N) maj. dec. Alex Tsirtsis (I), 12-1
141 Tsirtsis (I) won by medical forfeit
149 Ty Eustice (I) dec. Quincy Osborn (MN), 6-4
149 Eustice (I) dec. Darren McKnight (MSU), 3-1
157 Joe Johnston (I) maj. dec. Colton Salazar (PUR), 12-4
157 Johnston (I) dec. C.P. Schlatter (MN), 8-5
184 Paul Bradley (I) dec. Roger Kish (MN), 5-1
184 Brady Reinke (WI) dec. Bradley (I), 4-3
Hwt. Greg Wagner (MICH) dec. Matt Fields (I), 6-2
Hwt. Fields (I) maj. dec. Mike Behnke (IL), 12-3