Eustice, Mornginstar Win Titles

Nov. 20, 2005

OMAHA, NE – Hawkeye senior Ty Eustice (149) and freshman Ryan Morningstar (157) were Iowa’s two individual champions at the 2005 Kaufman-Brand Open in Omaha, NE. Iowa sent 26 competitors to Saturday’s tournament, which featured 650 wrestlers from 42 teams, making it the nation’s largest single-day collegiate tournament.

It was Eustice’s first competition of the season, while Morningstar placed third at last week’s Spartan Open in Dubuque. Eustice scored a major decision and four decisions en route to his 149-pound open division title, improving to 5-0 on the season and 88-26 in his career. Morningstar scored two pins, a technical fall and two decisions on his way to the 20-and-under division title at 157. He is now 9-1 on the season.

Also placing for Iowa in the open division were sophomore Alex Tsirtsis (141-2nd), senior Joe Johnston (157-2nd), junior Eric Luedke (165-3rd), senior Cole Pape (165-4th) and sophomore Matt Fields (Hwt.-2nd). Placing for the Hawkeyes in the 20-and-under division were freshmen Thomas Magnani (125-5th), Daniel Dennis (133-5th) and Dan Erekson (197-3rd), and redshirt freshmen Jacob Neuzil (174-5th) and Michael Bucklin (Hwt.-6th).

Johnston (157) and senior Paul Bradley (184) are scheduled to face two Illinois opponents at Monday’s 40th annual NWCA All-Star Classic in Stillwater, OK. The meet, presented by the United States Marine Corps, will start at 7 p.m. (CT) at Gallagher-Iba Arena in Stillwater, OK. Johnston is set to face Alex Tirapelle, while Bradley is set to wrestle Pete Friedl. Johnston has a 2-3 career mark against Tirapelle, scoring his most recent win (6-5) in the quarterfinals of the 2005 NCA Championships. It will be the first meeting between Bradley and Friedl. Bradley competed in the 2004 event, losing a 3-2 decision to West Virginia’s Greg Jones.

The Hawkeyes will open the 2005-06 dual meet season Saturday at Arizona State (3-1). Match time is scheduled for 8 p.m. (CT).

141 – First Place – David Hoffman (Virginia Tech) maj. dec. Alex Tsirtsis (Iowa), 14-3
149 – First Place – Ty Eustice (Iowa) dec. Mike Grimes (N. Illinois), 3-2
157 – First Place – Trent Paulson (Iowa St.) dec. Joe Johnston (Iowa), 4-0
165 – Third Place – Eric Luedke (Iowa) dec. Cole Pape (Iowa), 5-4
Hwt. – First Place – Les Sigman (Neb.-Omaha) dec. Matt Fields (Iowa), 9-2

125 – Fifth Place – Thomas Magnani (Iowa) dec. Kyle Russell (Wisconsin), 11-8
133 – Fifth Place – Daniel Dennis (Iowa) dec. Max Hiatt (N. Illinois), 6-1
157 – First Place – Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) dec. Joe Ellenberger (Neb.-Kearney), 4-3
174 – Fifth Place – Jacob Neuzil (Iowa) dec. Josh Zabel (Wis.-LaCrosse), 9-2
197 – Third Place – Dan Erekson (Iowa) pinned Johny Laboranti, 1:49
Hwt. – Fifth Place – Jordan Hein (Wisconsin) dec. Michael Bucklin (Iowa), 8-6