Four Hawkeyes Win Titles

Nov. 11, 2006


Four University of Iowa wrestlers won titles while competing unattached at the Spartan Classic in Dubuque Saturday. Freshman Billy Murphy (133), juniors Mark Perry (165) and Matt Fields (Hwt.) and senior Eric Luedke (174) took home individual tournament titles.

Perry recorded the quickest fall of the tournament in his first match, pinning Luke Karner of Knox College in 10 seconds. He totaled two pins, a technical fall and a major decision on the day. Luedke pinned his first three opponents and scored a major decision in the finals. Murphy recorded a pin, technical fall, major decision and decision at 133, while Fields a major decision, technical fall and two decisions at heavyweight.

Also placing for Iowa were freshmen Matt Ballweg (2nd-149), Brooks Kopsa (7th-149) and Jake Kerr (165-3rd), and sophomore Dan Erekson (3rd-197).

Hawkeye redshirt freshmen Joe Slaton (133), Dan LeClere (141), T.H. Leet (165) and Jay Borschel (174) were scheduled to compete at the Harold Nichols Open in Fort Dodge Saturday. Results were not available a press time.

133 Pounds – Billy Murphy – 1st place
Murphy tech. fall Tom Drosopoulous (Loras), 18-2 in 5:00
Murphy dec. Dan Manzella (Illinois), 13-7
Murphy pinned Jordan Loy (Loras), 0:58
Murphy maj. dec. Joe Gomez (Illinois), 15-3

149 Pounds – Matt Ballweg – 2nd place
Ballweg pinned Frederick Collins (Dubuque), 2:00
Ballweg maj. dec. Chuck Piertz (Dubuque), 8-0
Ballweg pinned Andy Norton (Upper Iowa), 1:20
Troy Tirapelle (Illinois) dec. Ballweg, 3-1

149 Pounds – Brooks Kopsa – 7th place
Kopsa maj. dec. Pat Bauer (Dubuque), 12-4
Billy Smith (Loras) pinned Kopsa, 2:49
Kopsa tech fall Kyle Luedtke (Wis.-Platteville), 18-2, 6:15
Eric Hanson (Loras) dec. Kopsa, 8-6
Kopsa dec. Tee Adams (Upper Iowa), 3-0

165 Pounds – Mark Perry – 1st place
Perry pinned Luke Karner (Knox), 0:10
Perry maj. dec. Jake Murphy (Unattached), 13-3
Perry tech. fall Cole Williams (Unattached), 17-1, 5:28
Perry pinned Roger Smith Bergsrud (Illinois), 2:31

165 Pounds – Jake Kerr – 3rd place
Kerr dec. David Early (Loras), 4-3
Kerr dec. Bobby Larson (Dubuque), 8-6
Roger Smith Bergsrud (Illinois) dec. Kerr, 3-1
Kerr tech. fall Mitch Norton (Upper Iowa), 16-1, 6:01
Kerr dec. Bobby Larson (Dubuque), 5-0

174 Pounds – Eric Luedke – 1st place
Luedke pinned Steve Ott (Millikin), 4:37
Luedke pinned Mike Roberts (Wis.-Platteville), 2:15
Luedke pinned Ben Friedl (Unattached), 4:35
Luedke maj. dec. Brady Hakeman (Upper Iowa), 9-1

197 Pounds – Dan Erekson – 3rd place
Erekson pinned Ryan Allen (Loras), 1:26
Patrick Bond (Illinois) dec. Erekson, 4-2
Erekson dec. Ryan Phillips (Upper Iowa), 3-1
Erekson pinned Matt Norton (Unattached), 2:47

Heavyweight – Matt Fields – 1st place
Fields maj. dec. Josh Johns (Upper Iowa), 22-8
Fields dec. Mike Shaub (Unattached), 9-4
Fields tech. fall Trevor Kaufman (Loras), 24-9, 6:30
Fields dec. John Wise (Illinois), 9-5