Iowa Wins 800th Dual

Dec. 7, 2006


The University of Iowa wrestling team scored its 800th dual victory Thursday night with wins over Coe (50-0) and North Carolina State (38-9) in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Iowa’s overall dual meet record is now 800-209-30 (.785) in 95 seasons of competition. Iowa’s win over Coe was the first time in over three years that the Hawkeyes had shut out an opponent and scored 50 points in a dual meet. The Hawkeyes improve to 5-0 on the season with the wins.

Eight Iowa wrestlers went 2-0 on the night, and Iowa recorded six pins. Individual highlights included junior Mark Perry (165) scoring two first period pins, sophomore Charlie Falck (125) recording two technical falls and senior Mario Galanakis winning two major decisions.

Iowa’s next competition will be at the 44th annual Midlands Championships in Evanston, IL, December 29-30. All matches will be held at Welsh-Ryan Arena on the Northwestern University campus.

Iowa 50, Coe 0
125 – Charlie Falck (I) tech. fall Brian Clement (C), 21-6
133 – Mario Galanakis (I) maj. dec. Gannon Hjerleid (C), 10-1
141 – Alex Tsirtsis (I) maj. dec. Jared Creason (C), 17-5
149 – Brett Stedman (I) maj. dec. Tyler Baker (C), 10-1
157 – Ryan Morningstar (I) pinned Ryan Vogel (C), 1:03
165 – Mark Perry (I) pinned Bryon Grothus (C), 2:56
174 – Ben Stedman (I) pinned Marcus Schneider (C), 3:24
184 – Phillip Keddy (I) dec. Greg Lalla (C), 13-7
197 – Dan Erekson (I) pinned Rob Kramer (C), 2:40
Hwt. – Matt Fields (I) pinned Jared Carder (C), 2:26

Iowa 38, North Carolina State 9
125 – Charlie Falck (I) tech. fall Taylor Cummings (N), 26-11 in 4:53
133 – Mario Galanakis (I) maj. dec. Garrett Cummings (N), 14-3
141 – Alex Tsirtsis (I) won by forfeit
149 – Joe Caramanica (N) dec. Brett Stedman (I), 8-2
157 – Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Kody Hamrah (N), 5-3
165 – Mark Perry (I) pinned Obie Simpson (N), 0:47
174 – Rick Brownlee (N) pinned Joe Uker (I), 6:28
184 – Phillip Keddy (I) won by injury default over Mark Jahad (N)
197 – Dan Erekson (I) won by forfeit
Hwt. – Matt Fields (I) dec. Jainor Palma (N), 7-3