Hawkeyes Drop Northwestern, 24-14

Jan. 21, 2007


The Iowa wrestling team opened the 2007 Big Ten season with a 24-14 win over Northwestern Sunday at Rolling Meadows High School in Rolling Meadows, IL. The Hawkeyes improved to 10-2 overall, 1-0 in the Big Ten with the win, while Northwestern fell to 10-5, 0-2.

The Wildcats jumped out to an 8-0 lead with wins at 197 and heavyweight to start the dual. Northwestern junior Mike Tamillow scored a 19-4 technical fall over redshirt freshman Rick Loera, who was inserted in the lineup after starter Dan Erekson suffered a shoulder injury at Oklahoma State Friday night. Northwestern junior Dustin Fox followed with his fourth career victory over Hawkeye junior Matt Fields – a 2-0 decision at heavyweight.

Iowa responded with wins at the next seven bouts and 24 unanswered team points. Sophomore Charlie Falck started things at 125 with a 5-2 decision over Brandon Precin – avenging a loss at last week’s N.W.C.A./Cliff Keen National Duals. Senior Mario Galanakis followed with a 6-1 win over Eric Metzler at 133. Junior Alex Tsirtsis scored his 60th career win with a 15-4 major decision over James Kohlberg at 141. Senior Alex Grunder (149) and junior Mark Perry (165) also recorded major decisions for Iowa with Grunder defeating Marty Gould (12-4) and Perry blanking his Blair Academy prep teammate Greg Hagel (10-0). Junior Ryan Morningstar (157) and senior Eric Luedke (174) scored decisions for the Hawkeyes. Luedke extended his winning streak to 17 matches with the win, improving to 19-1 in collegiate competition and 10-0 in dual matches. Northwestern scored its final points of the dual when Iowa forfeited the 184-pound match.

Iowa (10-2, 1-0 Big Ten) will face Purdue (10-2, 0-2) Friday at 6 p.m. (CT) in West Lafayette, IN. The Hawkeyes will then head back to Iowa City to host undefeated Wisconsin (15-0, 1-0) in its Big Ten home opener Saturday at 7 p.m.

Iowa 24, Northwestern 14
197 – Mike Tamillow (N) tech. fall Rick Loera (I), 19-4
Hwt. – Dustin Fox (N) dec. Matt Fields (I), 2-0
125 – Charlie Falck (I) dec. Brandon Precin (N), 5-2
133 – Mario Galanakis (I) dec. Eric Metzler (N), 6-1
141 – Alex Tsirtsis (I) maj. dec. James Kohlberg (N), 15-4
149 – Alex Grunder (I) maj. dec. Marty Gould (N), 12-4
157 – Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Dominic Marella (N), 8-3
165 – Mark Perry (I) maj. dec. Greg Hagel (N), 10-0
174 – Eric Luedke (I) dec. Nick Hayes (N), 6-2
184 – Jake Herbert (N) won by forfeit