Hawkeyes Down Michigan, 20-13

Feb. 2, 2007


The Iowa wrestling team defeated Michigan, 20-13, Friday night in Ann Arbor, MI. The Hawkeyes led the entire dual, winning six of 10 bouts. It was also Iowa’s first win over Michigan since 2003. The Hawkeyes improved to 12-3 (3-1 Big Ten) with the win, while Michigan fell to 1-6-1 (0-3 Big Ten).

Hawkeye sophomore Charlie Falck opened the dual at 125 with a 10-1 major decision over Michael Watts. It was Falck’s 30th career victory and his sixth straight win this season. Senior Mario Galanakis (133) and junior Alex Tsirtsis (141) scored decisions in the next two bouts before junior Josh Churella scored Michigan’s first team points with a 13-5 major decision over Hawkeye senior Alex Grunder at 149. Iowa redshirt freshman Ryan Morningstar took the Hawkeyes into the intermission with a come-from-behind 8-7 win over Jeff Marsh at 157.

The marquee match of the night was at 165 when Hawkeye junior Mark Perry faced undefeated Eric Tannenbaum. Tannenbaum scored a takedown in the first period, but Perry responded with two escapes to take the match to sudden victory. Tannenbaum scored a takedown and two nearfall points in the sudden victory period to win, 6-2.

Senior Eric Luedke scored his 45th career and 20th consecutive wins with a 13-2 major decision over Jordan Sherrod at 174. Luedke improved to 22-2 in collegiate matches and 13-0 in duals this season. Michigan responded with decisions at 184 and 197 to pull within four points (17-13), but Hawkeye junior Matt Fields sealed Iowa’s win with a 5-2 decision over Casey White at heavyweight.

The Hawkeyes will wrestle their final Big Ten road dual of the season at Penn State (11-5, 2-3 Big Ten) Sunday at 11 a.m. The Nittany Lions defeated Northwestern, 25-8, earlier tonight in University Park, PA. Sunday’s dual will be aired live on FOX Sports Pittsburgh.

Iowa 20, Michigan 13
125 – Charlie Falck (I) maj. dec. Michael Watts (M), 10-1
133 – Mario Galanakis (I) dec. Chris Diehl (M), 8-6
141 – Alex Tsirtsis (I) dec. Justin Chrzanowski (M), 8-4
149 – Josh Churella (M) maj. dec. Alex Grunder (I), 13-5
157 – Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Jeff Marsh (M), 8-7
165 – Eric Tannenbaum (M) dec. Mark Perry (I), 6-2 SV-1
174 – Eric Luedke (I) maj. dec. Jordan Sherrod (M), 13-2
184 – Tyrel Todd (M) dec. Phillip Keddy (I), 5-2
197 – Nick Roy (M) dec. Rick Loera (I), 12-6
Hwt. – Matt Fields (I) dec. Casey White (M), 5-2