Perry Wins NCAA Title

March 17, 2007


Hawkeye junior Mark Perry won his first NCAA title Saturday night at the Palace of Auburn Hills in Auburn Hills, MI. The 165-pounder defeated top-seed Oklahoma State senior Johny Hendricks, 4-3, in the finals. He is Iowa’s first NCAA champion since Cliff Moore in 2004, and the Hawkeyes’ 48th national champion in school history.

Perry, who had an 0-6 career record against Hendricks, was down 2-0 before scoring a reversal and nearfall points late in the match to build a 4-2 lead. Hendricks escaped with six second left in the match, but Perry held on for the 4-3 victory. Perry ends the season with a 28-4 record.

“Everyone knows how much this means to each individual,” explained Perry. “I think it’s a little extra special, I think, for me growing up with my dad as a college coach since I was six years old. I saw my dad’s first national champion at Nebraska and that’s been my life goal; it’s the most important thing in my life. It’s a sigh relief finally to win it after coming so close the past two years. It’s huge for me.”

Iowa placed eighth in the team race with 57 points. Minnesota won the team title with 98.0 points, and Iowa State finished second with 88.5.

“This is big for the program,” said Iowa Head Coach Tom Brands. “It’s very important; it’s a big step for the program. When you’re building and rebuilding, it’s a huge step in the right direction.”

Place – Team – Points
1. – Minnesota – 98.0
2. – Iowa State – 88.5
3. – Missouri – 80.0
4. – Northwestern – 71.5
5. – Oklahoma State – 69.0
6. – Michigan – 62.0
7. – Hofstra – 60.5
8. – Iowa – 57.0
9. – Edinboro – 56.0
10. – Ohio State – 54.5

165 – #2 Mark Perry (Iowa) dec. #1 Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma St.), 4-3

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.