Hawkeyes Pound Cornell, 32-3

Jan. 12, 2008

CEDAR FALLS, IA — The University of Iowa wrestling team opened the 2008/NWCA Cliff Keen National Duals with a 32-3 win over Cornell Saturday at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls. Iowa, the tournament’s second seed, won nine of the 10 matches and improved to 8-1 with the win. Cornell fell to 0-3.

Three Hawkeyes scored team bonus points in the match, while the other six Iowa winners picked up decisions. Sophomore Brent Metcalf extended his winning streak to 10 matches with a 6:30 pin over Cornell’s Adam Frey at 149. Sophomores Dan LeClere (141) and Phillip Keddy (184) scored major decisions for the Hawkeyes. LeClere scored 10 unanswered points and accumulated over five minutes of riding time in his 11-3 win over Eric McGill.

Winning decisions for the Hawkeyes were seniors Mark Perry (165) and Matt Fields (Hwt.), junior Charlie Falck (125) and sophomores Ryan Morningstar (157), Jay Borschel (174) and Chad Beatty (197). Perry scored a 7-2 win over Mack Lewnes, who was ranked between second and third in the nation. Falck scored a takedown and nearfall points in the last 20 seconds to beat Mike Rodriguez, 11-9, in the dual opener. Fields ended the dual with a 5-1 win over Zach Hammond. Falck and Fields remain undefeated at 9-0 in dual competition with their wins. Borschel and Beatty each scored identical 10-4 wins over their opponents. Beatty jumped up two weight classes after competing at 174 pounds at Midlands two weeks ago. Morningstar also scored a 7-1 win over Drake Hovis at 157.

Iowa will face seventh-seeded Missouri in the quarterfinals Saturday at 3 p.m. Missouri, who is undefeated at 6-0, came from behind to beat unseeded Indiana (22-18) in the first round. The match will be broadcast live on AM800-KXIC and www.hawkeyesports.com. Live results and updated brackets are available at www.intermatwrestle.com. and www.unipanthers.com.

Iowa 32, Cornell 3
125 – Charlie Falck (I) dec. Mike Rodriguez (C) 11-9
133 – Mike Grey (C) dec. Joe Slaton (I), 10-3
141 – Dan LeClere (I) maj. dec. Eric McGill (C), 11-3
149 – Brent Metcalf (I) pinned Adam Frey (C), 6:30
157 – Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Drake Hovis (C), 7-1
165 – Mark Perry (I) dec. Mack Lewnes (C), 7-2
174 – Jay Borschel (I) dec. Steve Anceravage (C), 10-4
184 – Phillip Keddy (I) maj. dec. Mike Moore (C), 13-5
197 – Chad Beatty (I) dec. Matt Panasevich (C), 10-4
Hwt. – Matt Fields (I) dec. Zach Hammond (C), 5-1

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.