Iowa Defeats Indiana, 28-7

Feb. 15, 2008

Photo Gallery

IOWA CITY, IA — The top-ranked Iowa wrestling team posted its 12th straight win with a 28-7 victory over #21 Indiana Friday night in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The Hawkeyes remain undefeated in Big Ten competition at 6-0 and improved to 19-1 this season. Head Coach Tom Brands picked up his 50th career win, as Iowa won eight bouts and scored bonus points in four. Indiana fell to 12-7, 1-5 in the Big Ten.

The Hawkeyes jumped out to a 14-0 lead with wins at the first four bouts. Hawkeye junior Charlie Falck brought the crowd of 6,116 to its feet when he upset #2 Angel Escobedo, 4-2, at 125. Falck, who is ranked third in the nation, handed Escobedo (24-1) his first loss of the season. Sophomore Joe Slaton won his 10th straight match with a 3-2 decision over Andre Hernandez at 133. Sophomore Dan LeClere scored 19 points in the last two periods of his 141-pound match to post a 23-8 technical fall over Scott Kelly. At 149, sophomore Brent Metcalf won his 21st straight match with a 19-6 major decision over Kurt Kinser.

Indiana put points on the board with wins at 157 and 165, but the Hawkeyes shut the Hoosiers out in the final four matches. Sophomore Jay Borschel extended his winning streak to 12 matches with his 11-3 major decision over Trevor Perry at 174. Sophomore Phillip Keddy followed with a 17-5 major decision over Marc Bennett at 184 to pick up his seventh straight win. At 197, sophomore Chad Beatty scored a takedown with 30 seconds left in the match to beat Joe Fagiano, 9-7. Senior Matt Fields closed out the dual at heavyweight with his 7-3 victory over Nate Everhart.

Iowa will host #10 Michigan (15-6, 2-3 Big Ten) Sunday at 8 p.m. in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. It will be the second meeting for the Hawkeyes and Wolverines this season, as Iowa scored a 23-13 win in the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals semifinals Jan. 13 in Cedar Falls. The dual will be a Black Out event, where all fans are encouraged to wear black clothing. It will also be Senior Night, Fan Appreciation Night and 25 Years in Carver-Hawkeye Arena will be celebrated. Seniors Matt Fields (Hwt.) and Mark Perry (165) will be recognized, and fans will be eligible to win prizes and receive a free commemorative meet program.

Iowa 28, Indiana 7
125 – Charlie Falck (I) dec. Angel Escobedo (IND), 4-2
133 – Joe Slaton (I) dec. Andre Hernandez (IND), 3-2
141 – Dan LeClere (I) tech. fall Scott Kelly (IND), 23-8
149 – Brent Metcalf (I) maj. dec. Kurt Kinser (IND), 19-6
157 – Brandon Becker (IND) maj. dec. Ryan Morningstar (I), 9-0
165 – Matt Coughlin (IND) dec. Jake Kerr (I), 7-4
174 – Jay Borschel (I) maj. dec. Trevor Perry (IND), 11-3
184 – Phillip Keddy (I) maj. dec. Marc Bennett (IND), 17-5
197 – Chad Beatty (I) dec. Joe Fagiano (IND), 9-7
Hwt. – Matt Fields (I) dec. Nate Everhart (IND), 7-3

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.