Pfeiffer Named Team MVP

Feb. 19, 2008

Iowa City, IA – The University of Iowa field hockey team held its annual banquet Feb. 16th. During the banquet, team awards, which were voted on by members of the 2007 squad, were dispersed.

Award recipients include senior Adrienne Dybus (Nancy McLinden Carr Award), juniors Lauren Pfeiffer (Most Valuable Player), Caroline Blaum (Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award), Roz Ellis (Practice Player of the Year) and sophomore Tricia Dean (Practice Player of the Year).

Dybus earned the Nancy McLinden Carr Award for the second consecutive year. The award is presented to the player who consistently exudes enthusiasm, energy, and a positive attitude within the Iowa Field Hockey program. These attributes were possessed by Nancy in the game of field hockey and life.

“Adrienne consistently exudes enthusiasm and a positive attitude within the Iowa field hockey program and her life as a whole,” Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum said. “Adrienne has been a phenomenal leader in our program. She has an unbelievable way of turning an obstacle into a stepping stone.”

Pfeiffer was voted as the Most Valuable Player. She led the team in goals scored (15), points (38) and game winning goals (4) while starting every game for the Hawkeyes. Pfeiffer was first team all-Big Ten and second team all-America selection.

“Lauren’s accomplishments this year were well deserved,” Griesbaum said. “Not only did she receive all-America and all-Big Ten honors, but was also voted MVP by her teammates and coaches. She demonstrates outstanding skill, character, competitive drive and devotion to team goals on a consistent basis.”

Blaum was awarded with the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award for the second year in a row, which is presented to athlete who demonstrates leadership on a daily basis.

“Caroline receives this award because she demonstrates leadership every day,” Griesbaum said. “She has the utmost trust of her teammates and coaches. She does a great job of representing the University of Iowa and the athletics department in a first class manner. Caroline’s leadership skills have put her in the position of being team captain for the past three seasons.”

Ellis and Dean were named Practice Player of the Year. This is awarded to the athlete who maintains the highest level of intensity in practice throughout the year, helping make her teammates better by always competing and giving everything she has in all training situations.

“This award goes to Roz and Tricia because they always maintain a high level of intensity in practice,” Griesbaum said. “They help their teammates become better and because they are always competing, giving everything they have in all training sessions. Roz and Tricia are strong leaders on the team because of their effort and attitude. They will be looked to for outstanding leadership on the field next season.”

The Iowa Field Hockey team is looking forward to its quest for a third-straight Big Ten Tournament title in 2008.

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.