Iowa Recognizes Team Achievements

May 5, 2008


The University of Iowa men’s gymnastics team celebrated its 2008 season May 1 with the team’s annual Dr. C.E. Obermann Awards Banquet.

Senior Curtis Kleffman was named the N.R. Holzaepfel Most Valuable Team Member. Kleffman recorded two school records this season, one in the all-around competition, scoring an 86.45 against Illinois and the other on pommel horse, with a 14.90. He was named National Gymnast of the Week by the College Gymnastics Association after his outstanding performance in his last home meet as a Hawkeye against Illinois March 3.

Jacob Becker received the Dr. C.E. Obermann Outstanding Senior award Thursday. He was also recognized for his academic achievements this season, receiving the Academic Excellence award, as well as being named to the 2007-08 academic all-Big Ten team. Becker currently holds the school record on pommel horse, sharing the achievement with current teammate Kleffman, with a 14.90 at Nebraska.

Sophomore Reid Urbain had a successful season, recording a new school record on rings with a 14.70 against Oklahoma February 16. He received the 2008 Big Ten Sportsmanship award for Iowa men’s gymnastics, and was honored with the Coaches Appreciation Award.

Junior Geoff Reins recorded two school records this season on vault (16.30) and floor exercise (15.35), at Nebraska and the Big Ten Championships respectively. He was also named Big Ten Gymnast of the Week on March 19 after a meet changing performance against Nebraska.

Two additional Hawkeyes, senior Tom Buese and junior Diego Mercado-Austin, were named to the 2007-08 academic All-Big Ten team. Buese also earned the Captain of the Year award, Mercado-Austin was named Best Competitor in the Red Zone and sophomore Joel Snyder was given the Outstanding Execution award.

“Even when a season is not what we consider successful in terms of wins and losses, the yearend banquet allows us to recognize the guys who performed the way we would like everyone to perform,” said Hawkeye Head Coach Tom Dunn.

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.