Four Hawkeyes Win Kaufman-Brand Open Titles

Nov. 22, 2008

OMAHA, NE — Four University of Iowa wrestlers won individual titles at the 26th annual Kaufman-Brand Open Saturday in Omaha, NE. Junior Joe Slaton won the 133-pound title in the elite division, while true freshmen Matt McDonough (133) and Mark Ballweg (141) and redshirt freshman Brodie Ambrose (197) won titles in the amateur division.

Slaton, who defeated Iowa redshirt freshman Montell Marion 5-1 in the finals, won his second straight Kaufman-Brand Open title. McDonough also faced a Hawkeye teammate in the finals, beating true freshman Nate Moore in the 133-pound amateur final. Ballweg recorded two pins, a technical fall and a major decision en route to his title. Hawkeye sophomore Aaron Janssen was Iowa’s other placewinner, finishing third in the 165-pound elite division.

Hawkeye senior Charlie Falck (125), and juniors Brent Metcalf (149), Jay Borschel (174) and Phillip Keddy (184) are scheduled to compete at the 43rd annual NWCA All-Star Dual Monday in Columbus, OH. The event, which will be held at Ohio State’s St. John Arena is scheduled to start at 6 p.m. (CT) and will be aired on ESPNU Dec. 4 at 9 p.m. (CT). The Hawkeyes will then head to Troy, NY, Nov. 29 for the Journeymen/Brute Northeast Duals. Iowa will wrestle Binghamton at 8:15 a.m., Maryland at 10 a.m., Central Michigan at 12:15 p.m. and Bloomsburg at 4 p.m.

133 Pounds
Joe Slaton (I) tech. fall Matt Jacobson (DC), 19-4, 6:20
Joe Slaton (I) dec. Laramie Shaffer (ISU-UN), 6-5
Joe Slaton (I) dec. Patrick Aleksanyan (UNL-UN), 2-0
Joe Slaton (I) dec. Montell Marion (I), 5-1

Montell Marion (I) maj. dec. John Erickson (KC), 15-5
Montell Marion (I) maj. dec. Steve Hromada (TN-CHAT), 12-4
Montell Marion (I) dec. Matt Vacanti (UNL), 8-6
Montell Marion (I) won by medical forfeit over Jayson Ness (MN)
Joe Slaton (I) dec. Montell Marion (I), 5-1

157 Pounds
Robert Sanders (UNL) dec. Nick Kolegraff (I), 10-6
DaVaughn Perkins (IND) dec. Nick Kolegraff (I), 10-7

165 Pounds
Aaron Janssen (I) dec. Andrew Sorenson (ISU), 10-5
Stephen Dwyer (UNL) dec. Aaron Janssen (I), 4-2
Aaron Janssen (I) maj. dec. Mike Fahrer (I), 10-2
Aaron Janssen (I) dec. Blake Malloy (FHSU), 8-1
Aaron Janssen (I) dec. Seth Garvin (TN-CHAT), 6-2
Aaron Janssen (I) dec. Andrew Sorenson (ISU), 9-3

Help the Hawkeyes set a new NCAA dual meet attendance record. Purchase your Iowa-Iowa State tickets now by clicking HERE
or by calling
1-800 IA-HAWKS.

Eric Coxbill (WY) dec. Mike Fahrer (I), 7-4
Mike Fahrer (I) pinned Brandon Smith (KC), 5:56
Mike Fahrer (I) dec. JaVonte Ashford (KC), 11-4
Aaron Janssen (I) maj. dec. Mike Fahrer (I), 10-2

174 Pounds
Mike Letts (UMD-UN) maj. dec. Jake Kerr (I-UN), 14-5
Jake Kerr (I-UN) dec. Scott Jazen (UNI-UN), 9-6
Aaron Denson (UNO) dec. Jake Kerr (I-UN), 8-3

133 Pounds
Nate Moore (I-UN) pinned Tyler Untrauer (USAFA), 1:46
Nate Moore (I-UN) dec. Tim Thurston (ILCC), 8-4
Nate Moore (I-UN) pinned Chris Smith (NIU-UN), 2:27
Nate Moore (I-UN) tech. fall Matt Ashton (UNL-UN), 22-7 in 4:55
Matt McDonough (I-UN) maj. dec. Nate Moore (I-UN), 11-2

Matt McDonough (I-UN) pinned Austin McNatt (NEO), 1:29
Matt McDonough (I-UN) pinned Jarrod Wiens (HC), 1:30
Matt McDonough (I-UN) pinned Josh Smith (UNK-UN), 6:52
Matt McDonough (I-UN) maj. dec. George Ivanov (UNO-UN), 10-1
Matt McDonough (I-UN) maj. dec. Nate Moore (I-UN), 11-2

Brock Coutu (NIACC) pinned Joe Moore (I-UN), 1:32
Cody Delagardelle (UNI) maj. dec. Joe Moore (I-UN), 13-1

141 Pounds
Mark Ballweg (I-UN) pinned Matt Boyington (ISU-UN), 1:58
Mark Ballweg (I-UN) dec. Matt Mincey (MN), 16-11
Mark Ballweg (I-UN) pinned Rory Kendall (NEO), 5:39
Mark Ballweg (I-UN) tech. fall Tyler Kottas (UNO-UN), 16-0 in 3:44
Mark Ballweg (I-UN) maj. dec. Jon Burns (UNL-UN), 13-5

149 Pounds
Ross Grande (UNL-UN) dec. Ethan Sebert (I-UN), 3-2
Ethan Sebert (I-UN) dec. Ethan Gunter (KINg), 9-5
Tanner Kampen (ICCC) dec. Ethan Sebert (I-UN), 8-1

157 Pounds
Stew Gillmor (I-UN) pinned Joe Snedden (LAB), 7:00
Marvio Tischhauer (UNO-UN) pinned Stew Gillmor (I-UN), 6:26
Stew Gillmor (I-UN) pinned Joseph Stafford (USAFA), 1:02
Stew Gillmor (I-UN) pinned Brad Nardick (UW-UN), 4:00
Tyler Davis (WYO) maj. dec. Stew Gillmor (I-UN), 11-3

Jeret Chiri (I-UN) maj. dec. Matt Manning (NIACC), 12-3
Jeret Chiri (I-UN) pinned John Luttrell (UNK-UN), 3:48
Tyler Koehn (UNL-UN) dec. Jeret Chiri (I-UN), 6-4
Jeret Chiri (I-UN) dec. Raufeon Stots (LAB), 12-8
Tyler Davis (WYO) pinned Jeret Chiri (I-UN), 2:18

197 Pounds
Brodie Ambrose (I) dec. Neil Delaney (USAFA), 3-1
Brodie Ambrose (I) pinned Matt Grimlie (SDSU), 3:15
Brodie Ambrose (I) maj. dec. Drew Ross (NDSU), 19-5
Brodie Ambrose (I) dec. Ryland Geiger (MN), 4-3
Brodie Ambrose (I) dec. Justin McKain (UNK-UN), 3-1 SV-1

Elite Division Brackets in PDF Format

Amateur Division Brackets in PDF Format