Pfeiffer Named Honda Award Finalist

Nov. 26, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA – – The Collegiate Women Sports Awards has named Lauren Pfeiffer, a member of the University of Iowa field hockey team, a finalist for the 2008-09 Honda Sports Award for field hockey. Pfeiffer is one of four finalists. The winner becomes a nominee for The Honda-Broderick Cup awarded annually to the nation’s outstanding collegiate woman athlete of the year.

In addition to the honor, American Honda will donate $1,000 to Iowa’s women’s athletic fund. The winner’s program will receive $5,000.

In addition to Pfeiffer, the Big Ten was represented by Jennifer Long of Penn State. Susie Rowe of Maryland and Shannon Taylor of Syracuse are also finalists.

Pfeiffer, a back from Mt. Laurel, NJ, led the Hawkeyes to the NCAA Finals and their third-straight Big Ten Tournament title this season. She was named to the first all-America team, the first West all-Region team and the first all-Big Ten team. The senior was also selected to play in the NFHCA Senior All-Star game. She scored Iowa’s goal in the 2-1 double overtime loss to Maryland in the NCAA semifinals and was named to the NCAA all-Tournament team. She was named Big Ten Tournament MVP after scoring five goals, including two overtime game-winners. Pfeiffer led the Big Ten in goals scored (20) and was second in points (44). Twice this past season she tallied three goals in one game. Pfeiffer started all 23 games in 2008 and started all 83 games in her career. She ended her career with 53 goals to rank ninth in Hawkeye history.

Pfeiffer becomes the 12th Hawkeye to be named a finalist for the award. Former Hawkeye Kristy Gleason was the 1993-94 recipient of the award.