Top-Ranked Hawkeyes Head To Oklahoma State

Jan. 14, 2009

The top-ranked Iowa Hawkeyes (14-0) will travel to Stillwater, OK, to face #13/14 Oklahoma State (11-3) Sunday at 2 p.m. The dual will be held at Gallagher-Iba Arena.

Radio – Steven Grace and two-time Hawkeye NCAA champion and four-time all-American Mark Ironside will call the action live on AM-800, KXIC and Broadcasts are available using the Hawkeye All-Access subscription ($14.95 per month or $119.95 per year).

Video – Oklahoma State will provide a free video broadcast of the dual at

Internet – Live results from the dual will be available at Press releases, meet results and audio broadcasts are available on the University of Iowa’s website, Current staff and student-athlete head shots can be found at

Oklahoma State is 11-3 with wins over Old Dominion (30-9), Virginia (33-7), Appalachian State (41-3), American (33-9), Northern Colorado (41-3), Cal Poly (37-6), Minnesota (23-13), UC Davis (29-7), Clarion (44-0), Navy (34-3) and Edinboro (24-12), and losses to Lehigh (13-18), Oklahoma (15-18) and Central Michigan (14-17).

Head Coach John Smith is 278-38-4 in 18 years at Oklahoma State. Smith, who is the all-time winningest coach in school history, was a two-time NCAA champion (1987-88) for the Cowboys and a two-time Olympic gold medalist (1988, 1992). He is assisted by Eric Guerrero and Tyrone Lewis, who wrestled for Smith at Oklahoma State.

The Cowboys are led by seniors Jared Rosholt (Hwt.), Clayton Foster (197) and Brandon Mason (165). Rosholt is ranked #1 in the nation and boasts a 23-0 record. Foster is ranked between seventh and 11th in the country and has a 20-1 record. Mason, a native of Shenandoah, IA, is ranked between ninth and 12th with a 21-3 mark.

Oklahoma State leads the series, 25-16-1, and holds a 12-5-1 advantage in Stillwater. The Cowboys hold a 419-32-5 overall record at Gallagher-Iba Arena. Oklahoma State has won the last nine meetings between the two schools. Iowa’s last win in the series was a 20-14 victory in Iowa City in 2000, and its last win in Stillwater was 26-9 in 1996.

Iowa Head Coach Tom Brands is 0-3 against Oklahoma State, while Cowboy Head Coach John Smith is 14-5 against Iowa.

Oklahoma State handed top-ranked Iowa its only loss of the 2007-08 season when it beat the Hawkeyes 19-14 in Carver-Hawkeye Arena on Feb. 5. A crowd of 14,332 attended the dual. It was the seventh-largest crowd for a dual meet in NCAA wrestling history and the fifth-largest in Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

Iowa won four of the 10 weights, including two by major decision. Junior Charlie Falck opened the dual at 125 with a narrow 7-5 decision over Ben Ashmore. Falck fought off his back early in the third period and scored a reversal with one minute left to pick up the win. Sophomores Brent Metcalf (149) and Phillip Keddy (184) both scored major decisions, while senior Matt Fields closed out the dual with a 4-3 win over Jared Rosholt at heavyweight.

Oklahoma State won five of the six matches its was favored in, and added an upset to their six-win tally. Top-ranked Coleman Scott held off a late charge by second-ranked sophomore Joe Slaton at 133 to win 8-6 and hand Slaton his first loss of the season. Cowboy senior Nathan Morgan followed with an 8-4 win over sophomore Dan LeClere at 141. Juniors Newly McSpadden (157) and Brandon Mason (174) both scored decisions for the Cowboys and senior Jake Dieffenbach upset second-ranked senior Mark Perry, 5-3, at 165.

Oklahoma State 19, Iowa 14
125 – Charlie Falck (I) dec. Ben Ashmore (OSU), 7-5
133 – Coleman Scott (OSU) dec. Joe Slaton (I), 8-6
141 – Nathan Morgan (OSU) dec. Dan LeClere (I), 8-4
149 – Brent Metcalf (I) maj. dec. Quinten Fuentes (OSU). 20-8
157 – Newly McSpadden (OSU) dec. Ryan Morningstar (I), 4-2
165 – Jake Dieffenbach (OSU) dec. Mark Perry (I), 5-3
174 – Brandon Mason (OSU) dec. Jay Borschel (I), 2-0
184 – Phillip Keddy (I) maj. dec. Cody Hill (OSU), 12-2
197 – Clayton Foster (OSU) maj. dec. Rick Loera (I), 12-1
Hwt. – Matt Fields (I) dec. Jared Rosholt (OSU), 4-3

The top-ranked Hawkeyes won their fifth Cliff Keen/NWCA National Duals tournament title Sunday, beating Cornell 23-13 in the championship finals at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls. The Hawkeyes beat Wyoming (38-3), Minnesota (27-7) and Nebraska (22-11) en route to the finals

It is the first time the Hawkeyes – who won the team title in 2008 – won back-to-back National Duals titles since 1995 and 1996. The Hawkeyes improved to 14-0 on the season, and have won their last 28 matches. Cornell fell to 4-1. ESPNU will air a taped-delay broadcast of the championship finals on Jan. 15 at 3 p.m. (CT).

Hawkeye senior Alex Tsirtsis (141) and juniors Brent Metcalf (149), Phillip Keddy (184) and Dan Erekson (Hwt.) all went 4-0 during the two-day tournament. Metcalf won all four of his matches with team bonus-point victories – one pin, two technical falls and one major decision. He is 19-0 this season and on a 51-match winning streak.

The 2009 Iowa Wrestling Youth Clinic will be held before the Iowa-Illinois dual meet Sunday, Jan. 25 at 3 p.m. in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Youth, ages eighth grade and younger, are invited to participate in the annual free clinic put on by the University of Iowa wrestling coaching staff. Participants will receive a free ticket to the Iowa-Illinois dual and a complimentary clinic t-shirt. Check-in will start at 2:30 p.m. at the Carver-Hawkeye Arena north entrance.

Iowa has won its last 28 duals, and its last 24 duals away from Iowa City. The school record for overall consecutive dual wins is 42 (1994-97), and for consecutive away dual wins is 31 (1994-97). The 24 straight away duals rank second best in school history. Hawkeye junior Brent Metcalf (149) also has a winning streak of his own, winning his last 51 bouts.

Iowa set the national collegiate dual meet attendance record of 15,955 when it hosted #2 Iowa State Dec. 6 at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The previous record of 15,646 was set Feb. 1, 2002, when Minnesota hosted Iowa at the Target Center in Minneapolis. The Hawkeyes won the Iowa State dual, 20-15.

Tickets for Iowa’s five remaining home duals are on sale at the UI Athletic Ticket Office at 800-464-2957, 319-335-9327 or

Against Wisconsin, Illinois, Bucknell and Purdue, tickets purchased in advance are $10 for adults and $5 for youth. Tickets purchased at the meet are $12 for adults, $6 for youth. University of Iowa students and children ages five and under will be admitted free.

Against Minnesota, tickets purchased in advance are $13 for adults, $7 for youth and $2 for children ages five and under. Tickets purchased at the meet are $15 for adults, $8 for youth and $2 for children ages five and under. Due to the possibility of a sellout crowd, the first 1,000 general admission University of Iowa students will be admitted free of charge after they log-in to their student account at to reserve a seat and download a free paper ticket. After that allotment is sold out, students may purchase reserved seats at the youth price.

The Hawkeye wrestling staff of Tom Brands, Terry Brands, Doug Schwab, Mike Zadick and Jared Frayer earned a total of one Olympic gold medal, one Olympic bronze medal, six NCAA titles, 11 conference titles and 15 all-America honors. Their combined college career wrestling record is 487-83-2 (.858).

Top-ranked Iowa (14-0) will open the 2009 Big Ten season when it hosts #15/13 Wisconsin (6-3) Jan. 23 at 7 p.m. and #7/15 Illinois (7-0) Jan. 25 at 5 p.m. The Big Ten Network will air a live broadcast of the Iowa-Illinois dual.

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader