Metcalf Named Iowa's Most Valuable Wrestler

April 20, 2009

IOWA CITY, IA – Hawkeye junior Brent Metcalf has been named the Mike Howard Most Valuable Wrestler for the 2008-09 season. Iowa’s team awards for 2008-09 were recently announced.

The team awards give the Hawkeyes a chance to reflect on another successful season. Iowa won its 22nd NCAA and 33rd Big Ten titles while crowning five all-Americans and two Big Ten champions. The Hawkeyes posted a perfect 24-0 dual record, ending the season on a 33-match winning streak, and won its second straight Big Ten regular season title with an unblemished 8-0 mark. Hawkeye Head Coach Tom Brands was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second straight season. Iowa also reclaimed the national collegiate dual meet attendance record when 15,955 fans crowded Carver-Hawkeye Arena to watch the top-ranked Hawkeyes beat #2 Iowa State, 20-15, on Dec. 6th.

A two-time Big Ten champion and all-American at 149 pounds, Metcalf also earned the John & Dorothy Sill Award, which is presented annually to the team’s most dedicated wrestler on and off the mat. He has been named Outstanding Wrestler at the Big Ten Championships twice, becoming the first wrestler in conference history to earn the honor in consecutive seasons. In 2009, Metcalf went 37-1 in collegiate competition, 24-0 in dual matches while pinning 20 opponents. The pin total earned him the team’s Most Pins Award, and ranks fourth in Iowa school history. Metcalf also shared the team all-America Award with Iowa’s four other all-Americans.

Juniors Dan Erekson and Ryan Morningstar shared the Mike McGivern Award, which is given annually to the team’s most courageous wrestler, and the team’s all-America Award. Erekson won his first Big Ten title at heavyweight and earned all-America honors by fighting back through the NCAA consolation bracket to place fourth. He recorded a 27-8 record and went 15-4 in duals. His 13 pins – which were all recorded in the first period – ranked second on the team. Morningstar also earned his first all-America honor by fighting back through the NCAA wrestlebacks for third place at 165 pounds. He posted a 32-6 record, while going 20-4 in dual competition. Seven of his nine post-season matches were decided in overtime. The Hawkeye junior placed second at the Big Ten Championships.

Senior T.H. Leet also took home two team awards. He earned the J. Donald McPike, Sr., Award, which is given annually to the senior with the highest grade-point average. He also shared the Coaches Appreciation Award with sophomore Luke Lofthouse and redshirt freshman J.J. Krutsinger. Leet was a two-year academic all-Big Ten honoree and letterwinner at 157 and 165 pounds after transferring from Virginia Tech in 2006. Lofthouse competed at 197 pounds this season, posting a 1-2 mark in collegiate matches. Krutsinger went 8-5 at 125 pounds.

Juniors Phillip Keddy and Daniel Dennis each earned an all-America Award. Keddy placed fourth at 184 pounds at the NCAA Championships and second at the Big Ten meet. He posted a 34-5 overall record, going 23-1 in duals. Dennis placed seventh at 133 pounds at the NCAA meet and fifth at the conference championships. His season record of 31-6 included a 20-2 dual mark.

2008-09 University of Iowa Wrestling Team Awards
Mike Howard Award (Most Valuable): Brent Metcalf
Mike McGivern Award (Most Courageous): Ryan Morningstar, Dan Erekson
J. Donald McPike, Sr. Award (Highest GPA for graduating senior): T.H. Leet
John & Dorothy Sill Award (Most Dedicated Wrestler On & Off The Mat): Brent Metcalf
All-America Award: Dan Erekson, Phillip Keddy, Daniel Dennis, Ryan Morningstar, Brent Metcalf
Most Pins Award: Brent Metcalf (20)
Coaches Appreciation Award: T.H. Leet, Luke Lofthouse, J.J. Krutsinger