Slaton, Gambrall Take Home Titles

Nov. 14, 2009

AMES, IA — University of Iowa senior Joe Slaton (141) and redshirt freshman Grant Gambrall (184) each took home titles from the Harold Nichols Cyclone Open in Ames Saturday. Ten of Iowa’s 11 competitors placed fourth or higher at the season-opening tournament.

Slaton, who was competing unattached, won all five of his matches by seven points or more. The #2 seed at 141, Slaton posted two technical falls, a major decision and a decision en route to his 14-7 win over unattached competitor Mario Morgan in the finals.

Gambrall, who was the #3 seed at 184, recorded a pin, technical fall and major decision on the way to his 6-2 victory over #1 seed Jerome Ward of Iowa State in the finals.

Sophomore J.J. Krutsinger (125) and redshirt freshman Nate Moore (133) also wrestled in the finals of their respective weight classes, each placing second. Krutsinger, who was the top seed at 125, recorded two technical falls and a pin before losing a 10-2 major decision to #2 seed Andrew Long of Iowa State in the finals. Moore, who was seeded second, posted three first-period pins and a major decision at the tournament before losing a 4-2 decision to #1 seed Cody Garcia of the University of Nebraska-Omaha in the 133-pound finals.

Placing third for the Hawkeyes were junior Luke Lofthouse (197), sophomore Blake Rasing (Hwt.), and true freshmen Derek St. John (157) and Ethen Lofthouse (174). Sophomore Vinnie Wagner (184) and true freshman Nick Trizzino (133) both placed fourth at the tournament.

The Hawkeyes will host the six-team Iowa City Duals Friday at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in their first home event of the season. Matches are set for 10:30 a.m., Noon, 1:30 p.m., 3 p.m. and 5 p.m., and the teams competing are Coe College, Cornell College, the University of North Carolina-Pembroke, Iowa Lakes Community College and Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. The event is part of the wrestling season ticket package, which is $60 for the general public and $48 for UI faculty and staff. Tickets for the event are $10 for adults and $5 for youth if purchased in advance, and $12 for adults and $6 for youth if purchased at the door. Hawkeye men’s basketball and football fans can also take advantage of special ticket prices for the Iowa City Duals. Fans can show their men’s basketball ticket for Friday’s 8:05 p.m. game with Bowling Green State or their Saturday Iowa vs. Minnesota football ticket at the Carver-Hawkeye Arena Athletic Ticket Office and receive a $5 ticket to the Iowa City Duals. Contact the UI Athletic Ticket Office at or 800-424-2957 to order tickets.

125 Pounds
J.J. Krutsinger (I) tech. fall over Brian Reisenauer (MSUM), 16-1, 5:13
J.J. Krutsinger (I) pinned Robert Harrera (Ells), 5:54
J.J. Krutsinger (I) tech. fall Terance Young (UNI), 16-1, 5:59
Andrew Long (ISU) maj. dec. J.J. Krutsinger (I), 10-2

133 Pounds
Nate Moore (I) pinned Travis Evans (GSV), 0:20
Nate Moore (I) pinned Tyler Grask (ISU-UN), 0:50
Nate Moore (I) pinned James Clark (Ells), 2:05
Nate Moore (I) maj. dec. Ridge Kiley (Neb), 17-7
Cody Garcia (UNO) dec. Nate Moore (I), 4-2

Nick Trizzino (I-UN) dec. Nate Behrendsend (WART-UN), 7-2
Nick Trizzino (I-UN) pinned Elliot Martin (LU), 1:48
Nick Trizzino (I-UN) dec. Joey Lazor (UNI-UN), 9-4
Cody Garcia (UNO) pinned Nick Trizzino (I-UN), 2:13
Nick Trizzino (I-UN) maj. dec. Marshall Koethe (ICCC), 11-3
Ridge Kiley (Neb) dec. Nick Trizzino (I-UN), 7-2

141 Pounds
Joe Slaton (I-UN) tech. fall Danial Ruter (UN), 23-7, 6:59
Joe Slaton (I-UN) tech. fall Robby Risher (MSUM), 22-6, 6:59
Joe Slaton (I-UN) maj. dec. Chris Sandy (WART), 13-2
Joe Slaton (I-UN) dec. Dalton Jensen (ISU), 10-3
Joe Slaton (I-UN) dec. Mario Morgan (UN), 14-7

157 Pounds
Derek St. John (I-UN) maj. dec. Adam Kurimski (GSV-UN), 12-1
Derek St. John (I-UN) pinned Justin Turek (MSUM), 5:40
Derek St. John (I-UN) maj. dec. Tyler Kottas (UNO), 10-2
Andrew Sorenson (ISU) dec. Derek St. John (I-UN), 7-5
Derek St. John (I-UN) dec. Jake Johnson (LU), 3-2
Derek St. John (I-UN) pinned Tim McGoldrick (LU), 6:49

174 Pounds
Ethen Lofthouse (I-UN) dec. Kyle Kehrli (SDSU), 3-1
Ethen Lofthouse (I-UN) pinned WillieSougstad (NIACC), 2:37
Ethen Lofthouse (I-UN) dec. Mike Finch (ISU), 7-3
Duke Burk (ISU) dec. Ethen Lofthouse (I-UN), 3-1
Ethen Lofthouse (I-UN) dec. Caleb Kolb (NEB), 5-3
Ethen Lofthouse (I-UN) ddec. James Nakashima (NEB), 13-7

184 Pounds
Grant Gambrall (I) pinned Tommy Tuck (LU), 1:46
Grant Gambrall (I) tech. fall Jordaryl Logan (GSV-UN), 19-3, 5:59
Grant Gambrall (I) maj.dec. Cole Shafer (ISU-UN), 14-6
Grant Gambrall (I) dec. Jerome Ward (ISU), 6-2

Ben Scott (WART) dec. Tomas Lira (I-UN), 6-3
Daniel Chionuma (LU) maj. dec. Tomas Lira (I-UN), 17-6

Vinnie Wagner (I) pinned Matt Dillman (LU), 0:36
Vinnie Wagner (I) ddec. Matt Baker (UNO), 7-1
Jerome Ward (ISU) dec. Vinnie Wagner (I), 3-2
Vinnie Wagner (I) dec. Ben Becker (MSUM), 10-3
Vinnie Wagner (I) dec. Aaron Denson (UNO), 7-0
Vinnie Wagner (I) pinned Cole Shafer (ISU-UN), 4:03
Ryan Loder (UNI-UN) pinned Vinnie Wagner (I), 3:56

197 Pounds
Luke Lofthouse (I) dec. Kyle Simonson (ISU), 4-3
Luke Lofthouse (I) pinned Brent Lambie (UNI-UN), 2:54
Luke Lofthouse (I) dec. Cameron Browne (NEB), 7-3
Tyler Sorenson (SDSU) dec. Luke Lofthouse (I), 8-5
Luke Lofthouse (I) maj. dec. Byron Tate (WART), 12-4
Luke Lofthouse (I) dec. Jacob Marrs (UNO), 4-2

Blake Rasing (I) maj. dec. Hugh Malone (ICCC), 11-0
Blake Rasing (I) pinned John Heinen (MSUM), 1:21
Blake Rasing (I) dec. Elijah Madison (UNO), 5-2
John Helgerson (WART) dec. Blake Rasing (I), 3-2
Blake Rasing (I) dec. Taylor Escamilla (UNO), 9-7
Blake Rasing (I) dec. Brady Wilson (MSUM), 5-2

Complete Harold Nichols Cyclone Open Brackets in PDF Format