Iowa Holds Off Iowa State, 18-16

Dec. 6, 2009

AMES, IA — The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team survived a late charge by the second-ranked Iowa State Cyclones, scoring an 18-16 victory Sunday night at Hilton Coliseum in Ames. Each team won five matches with the difference being Hawkeye senior Brent Metcalf’s pin at 149 pounds. Iowa (8-0) took a 7-6 lead in the sixth-annual Hy-Vee Cy-Hawk Series in front of 11,137 fans with the win. The Hawkeyes, who have won the last five meetings against Iowa State (1-1), picked up their school-record 46th straight dual victory and 32nd consecutive road win.

“This match was very important to us,” explained Hawkeye Head Coach Tom Brands. “We didn’t wrestle well, but the bonus points won it for us tonight. We have been wrestling sloppy the last couple of weekends. We need to get healthy, get to full strength and get tougher.”

Iowa jumped out to a 6-0 lead on decisions by redshirt freshman Matt McDonough (125) and senior Daniel Dennis (133). McDonough improved to 8-0 with a 13-7 win over Iowa State redshirt freshman Andrew Long. The Marion, IA, native scored the first takedown of the night and five total in the match, while holding Long to one takedown. Dennis scored a takedown as time expired in sudden victory to beat Cyclone senior Nick Fanthorpe, 10-8. Dennis, who picked up his 55th career victory with the win, is undefeated at 8-0.

Iowa State put its first points on the board at 141 when senior Nick Gallick scored a takedown in a sudden victory scramble to beat Hawkeye senior Dan LeClere, 8-6. LeClere came back from a 5-1 second period deficit and scored a takedown at the end of regulation to take the match into overtime.

The Hawkeyes took a 15-3 lead into the intermission with Metcalf’s 5:50 pin over Cyclone senior Mitch Mueller pin and an 8-6 decision by Iowa junior Aaron Janssen over Cyclone sophomore Andrew Sorenson at 157. Metcalf led the match 11-3 before scoring his sixth pin of the season and his 80th career victory. He is undefeated at 8-0 this season and needs three more pins to break into Iowa’s all-time top 10 career pins list.

Iowa State put three more points on the board at 165 with Cyclone senior Jon Reader’s 4-3 win over Hawkeye senior Ryan Morningstar. Morningstar scored a takedown late in the third period to tie the score at 3-3, but Reader added a riding time point to hand the Hawkeye senior his first loss of the season.

Hawkeye junior Jay Borschel stretched Iowa’s lead to 18-6 with his 10-4 decision over Cyclone senior Duke Burk at 174. After a scoreless first period, Borschel scored two takedowns in the second period and added one more in the third to remain undefeated at 8-0.

Iowa State gave themselves a chance at the team victory with wins at the last three weights, but did not score the needed bonus points to take the lead. Cyclone sophomore Jerome Ward led the charge, scoring a 5-3 upset over Hawkeye senior Phillip Keddy at 184. Top-ranked Iowa State senior Jake Varner scored a 12-4 major decision over Iowa senior Chad Beatty at 197, making the team score 18-13 in favor of Iowa. Hawkeye sophomore Blake Rasing put up a fight in the final match of the night, but gave up a takedown in sudden victory to lose 3-1 to Cyclone senior David Zabriskie.

The Hawkeyes also crowned six individual champions at the Wisconsin Open in Parkside, WI, Saturday. Sophomores J.J. Krutsinger (125), Montell Marion (141) and Jordan Johnson (Hwt.), redshirt freshman Mark Ballweg (133) and Grant Gambrall (184) and true freshman Derek St. John (157) all won their respective weight classes. Juniors Tyler Clark (133) and Luke Lofthouse (197), and sophomore Vinnie Wagner (184) placed second, while true freshman Ethen Lofthouse (174) placed third.

Up next for Iowa is Thursday’s 7 p.m. dual with Northern Iowa (3-3) at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Tickets purchased in advance are $10 for adults and $5 for youth, while tickets purchased at the event are $12 for adults and $6 for youth. UI students and children ages five and under will receive free admission to the dual. The meet has been designated the Miracle Meet, in support of the UI Children’s Hospital, and food drive. Fans can bring in three non-perishable food items to the UI Sports Marketing table at each Carver-Hawkeye Arena entrance and receive an Iowa wrestling decal.

Iowa 18, Iowa State 16
125 – Matt McDonough (I) dec. Andrew Long (ISU), 13-7
133 – Daniel Dennis (I) dec. Nick Fanthorpe (ISU), 10-8 SV
141 – Nick Gallick (ISU) dec. Dan LeClere (I), 8-6 SV
149 – Brent Metcalf (I) pinned Mitch Mueller (ISU), 5:50
157 – Aaron Janssen (I) dec. Andrew Sorenson (ISU), 8-6
165 – Jon Reader (ISU) dec. Ryan Morningstar (I), 4-3
174 – Jay Borschel (I) dec. Duke Burk (ISU), 10-4
184 – Jerome Ward (ISU) dec. Phillip Keddy (I), 5-3
197 – Jake Varner (ISU) maj. dec. Chad Beatty (I), 12-4
Hwt. – David Zabriskie (ISU) dec. Blake Rasing (I), 3-1 SV