Hawkeyes Defeat Boise State, 20-12

Jan. 9, 2010

CEDAR FALLS, IA — The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team advanced to Sunday morning’s championship semifinals of the 2010 NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals with a 20-12 victory over #9 Boise State in Saturday afternoon’s quarterfinals. The Hawkeyes (11-0) picked up their 49th straight victory with the win, and handed Head Coach Tom Brands his 70th win at Iowa. The Hawkeyes beat Nebraska, 33-3, in Saturday morning’s opening round.

Hawkeye redshirt freshman Matt McDonough gave Iowa a much-needed jumpstart with his 15-6 major decision over Boise State junior Alan Bartelli at 125. Bartelli scored the first takedown of the match, but it was the only one that McDonough allowed. The Marion, IA, native responded with an escape and six takedowns of his own, earning 2:06 in riding time for the win. McDonough improved to 17-0 on the season with the win.

Iowa redshirt freshman Nate Moore gave third-ranked Boise State junior Andrew Hochstrasser an exciting 133-pound match, but lost 8-6 in sudden victory. After no scoring in the first period, Hochstrasser escaped in the second period to take a 1-0 lead. Moore chose the down position to start the third period, scoring a reversal and three nearfall points to grab a 5-1 lead. Hochstrasser escaped and scored a takedown of his own to make the score 5-4. Moore escaped for the 6-4 lead, but Hochstrasser scored a takedown to take the 6-6 tie into sudden victory. Hochstrasser scored a takedown in sudden victory for the 8-6 win. Moore is wrestling for injured Hawkeye starter Daniel Dennis.

The Hawkeyes responded with wins at the next two weights to take an 11-3 lead. Sophomore Montell Marion scored four takedowns in the first two periods, beating #10 Levi Jones of Boise State, 9-5. Senior Brent Metcalf followed with a 13-3 major decision over Boise State sophomore Jason Chamberlain at 149. The top-ranked Hawkeye senior scored five takedowns over the sixth-ranked Bronco to remain undefeated at 17-0 on the season.

Boise State broke the Hawkeye winning streak when third-ranked junior Adam Hall scored an 8-2 win over Iowa junior Jake Kerr at 157.

Hawkeye seniors Ryan Morningstar (165) and Jay Borschel (174) got another run going with decisions at their weight classes. Morningstar posted a 7-1 win over Boise State freshman Michael Cuthbertson, while Borschel recorded an 8-2 win over Bronco senior Nate Lee. Morningstar improved to 13-2 in collegiate competition and 8-1 in duals with the win, while Borschel remains undefeated at 16-0 (11-0 in duals).

Iowa senior Phillip Keddy, who is ranked sixth in the nation, took top-ranked Boise State junior Kirk Smith to the tiebreak period at 184, but was reversed for the 3-1 loss.

Hawkeye junior Luke Lofthouse won Iowa’s final bout of the day, scoring a 3-2 decision in the tiebreak period over Boise State junior Matt Casperson at 197. The win was Lofthouse’s first dual victory of the season. Boise State senior Sam Zylstra won the heavyweight bout, defeating Iowa sophomore Blake Rasing, 4-3, to end the dual.

Iowa will face #6 Minnesota (5-2) in the championship semifinals Sunday at 11 a.m. The Golden Gophers defeated Missouri (25-14) and Central Michigan (25-9) en route to their semifinal appearance. The match will be broadcast at 1 p.m. (CT) on Iowa Public Television. Livesportsvideo.com will be airing online video of National Duals matches throughout the tournament on their website. Fans can access the video feed through the site for a $5 fee. Hawkeye fans can also hear the dual with Minnesota on the radio and internet. Steven Grace and two-time Hawkeye NCAA champion and four-time all-American Mark Ironside will call the action for live on AM-800, KXIC and www.hawkeyesports.com using the Hawkeye All-Access subscription ($14.95 per month or $119.95 per year). Takedownradio.com will also air a National Duals audio broadcast. Tournament brackets and results will be available at www.nwcaonline.com and www.unipanthers.com .

#1 Iowa 20, #9 Boise State 12
125 – Matt McDonough (Iowa) maj. dec. Alan Bartelli (Boise State), 15-6
133 – Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State) dec. Nate Moore (Iowa), 8-6 SV
141 – Montell Marion (Iowa) dec. Levi Jones (Boise State), 9-5
149 – Brent Metcalf (Iowa) maj. dec. Jason Chamberlain (Boise State), 13-3
157 – Adam Hall (Boise State) dec. Jake Kerr (Iowa), 8-2
165 – Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) dec. Michael Cuthbertson (Boise State), 7-1
174 – Jay Borschel (Iowa) dec. Nate Lee (Boise State), 8-2
184 – Kirk Smith (Boise State) dec. Phillip Keddy (Iowa), 3-1 TB
197 – Luke Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. Matt Casperson (Boise State), 3-2 TB
Hwt. – Sam Zylstra (Boise State) dec. Blake Rasing (Iowa), 4-3