Hawkeyes Pound Nebraska, 33-3

Jan. 9, 2010

CEDAR FALLS, IA — The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team improved to 10-0 on the season with a 33-3 win over #15 Nebraska (8-4) in the first round of the 2010 NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals Saturday at the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls, IA. The Hawkeyes, who are the tournament’s top seed, also picked up their 48th straight dual win with the victory.

Iowa won the first eight bouts, jumping out to a 30- -1 lead over the Huskers. Four Hawkeyes scored bonus team points, with redshirt freshmen Matt McDonough (125) and Nate Moore (133), and senior Ryan Morningstar (165) recording major decisions, and senior Brent Metcalf (149) receiving a forfeit.

McDonough opened the dual for Iowa at 125 with a 13-5 major decision over Nebraska freshman David Klingsheim. The Hawkeye redshirt freshman remains undefeated a 16-0 this season, scoring bonus team points in 13 bouts. One team point was deducted from Nebraska after the match for Klingsheim’s unsportsmanlike conduct.

At 133, Moore scored a three-point nearfall at the end of the second period to take a 5-1 lead over Nebraska freshman C.J. Napier. Moore, who is wrestling for injured starter Daniel Dennis, added an escape, takedown and a point for accumulating four minutes of riding time to win 9-1. Moore is 8-4 in collegiate matches this season, and 2-0 in dual competition.

Hawkeye sophomore Montell Marion scored his 20th career victory with a 10-5 win over Husker junior Mike Koehnlein at 141. Marion is 10-1 this season in collegiate competition, going 2-0 in duals.

After Metcalf received the forfeit at 149 to remain undefeated at 16-0, Iowa junior Aaron Janssen posted a 4-0 win over Nebraska redshirt freshman Tyler Koehn at 157. After a scoreless first period, Janssen rode Koehn the entire second period. Then he scored an escape and takedown in the third period, and picked up the riding time point for the win.

Morningstar showed some offensive power in his 11-2 major decision over Nebraska junior Alex Ward. The Hawkeye senior led 7-1 after the first two periods on a takedown and five nearfall points. Morningstar followed with an escape, takedown and riding time point in the third period, while holding Ward to one more escape in the match. He is now 12-2 on the season, going 7-1 in duals.

In the marquee bout of the dual, Hawkeye senior Jay Borschel defeated Nebraska senior Stephen Dwyer, 10-7, at 174. Borschel, who is ranked first in the nation by Amateur Wrestling News and W.I.N. Magazine, and second by Intermat, trailed 6-5 doing into the third period. Choosing the down position, Borschel reversed Dwyer, who is ranked third in the nation by all three publications, to take a 7-6 lead. The Hawkeye senior then scored a two-point nearfall and accumulated 1:14 riding time for the win. Borschel is undefeated at 15-0 this season, handing Dwyer his second collegiate loss (15-2) and first dual loss (11-1) of the season.

Hawkeye senior Phillip Keddy kept Iowa’s winning streak going with his 4-0 win over Nebraska redshirt freshman Josh Ihnen at 184. Keddy scored the only takedown of the match in the first period, then added an escape and a point for riding time for the win. He is 12-3 on the season and 8-1 in duals.

Nebraska put their only points on the scoreboard at 197 when #2 Craig Brester recorded an 11-2 major decision over Hawkeye junior Luke Lofthouse. The Husker senior remains undefeated at 18-0 (12-0 in duals) this season. Lofthouse was wrestling for injured Hawkeye starter Chad Beatty.

Hawkeye sophomore heavyweight Jordan Johnson ended the dual with a 3-2 upset over nationally-ranked Nebraska sophomore Tucker Lane. After a scoreless first period, Lane, who is ranked ninth by W.I.N. and 11th by A.W.N. and Intermat, scored an escape to take a 1-0 lead. Johnson scored a takedown on a scramble to take a 2-1 lead, but Tucker tied things up at 2-2 with a second escape. Johnson chose down to start the third period and recorded the escape for the 3-2 win.

Iowa will face #9 Boise State (6-0) in the championship quarterfinals at 1 p.m. Boise State beat Buffalo (6-2-1) in the opening round, 31-9, to advance in the championship bracket. Boise State’s Head Coach Greg Randall was a three-time all-American and four-year letterwinner (1984-87) at Iowa, helping the Hawkeyes to four Big Ten and three NCAA titles.

Hawkeye fans can the dual on the radio and internet. Steven Grace and two-time Hawkeye NCAA champion and four-time all-American Mark Ironside will call the action for live on AM-800, KXIC. Live audio broadcasts will also be available online at www.hawkeyesports.com using the Hawkeye All-Access subscription ($14.95 per month or $119.95 per year), and www.Takedownradio.com. Livesportsvideo.com will be airing video of National Duals matches throughout the tournament on their website. Fans can access the video feed through the site for a $5 fee. Tournament brackets and results will be updated throughout the weekend at www.nwcaonline.com, www.unipanthers.com and www.hawkeyesports.com.

Iowa 33, Nebraska 3
125 – Matt McDonough (Iowa) maj. dec. David Klingsheim (Nebraska), 13-5
133 – Nate Moore (Iowa) maj. dec. C.J. Napier (Nebraska), 9-1
141 – Montell Marion (Iowa) dec. Mike Koehnlein (Nebraska), 10-5
149 – Brent Metcalf (Iowa) won by forfeit
157 – Aaron Janssen (Iowa) dec. Tyler Koehn (Nebraska), 4-0
165 – Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) maj. dec. Alex Ward (Nebraska), 11-2
174 – Jay Borschel (Iowa) dec. Stephen Dwyer (Nebraska), 10-7
184 – Phillip Keddy (Iowa) dec. Josh Ihnen (Nebraska), 4-1
197 – Craig Brester (Nebraska) maj. dec. Luke Lofthouse (Iowa), 11-1
Hwt. – Jordan Johnson (Iowa) dec. Tucker Lane (Nebraska), 3-2