Iowa Falls to Kansas, 8-4

March 6, 2010

Box Score

Box Score in PDF Format

LAWRENCE, KS — The University of Iowa baseball team lost to Kansas, 8-4, Saturday afternoon at Hoglund Ballpark. Despite knocking out ten hits, the Hawkeye offense came up short in the loss.

Iowa starter Zach Robertson got the loss, going three and one-third innings. Right-hander Zach Kenyon provided four and two-third innings of solid relief for the Hawkeyes. Kenyon allowed only one run on four hits with three strikeouts.

Six players recorded a base hit, and four different Hawkeyes drove in a run. Mike McQuillan, Trevor Willis, Mike Corbeil and Sean Flanagan all knocked in a run each. Kurtis Muller recorded his 19th straight game with a hit, dating back to last season. He went 2-for-4 with a double. Tyson Blaser went 2-for-5 with two runs scored and a double.

Kansas (6-3) took an early 2-0 lead in the first, taking advantage of two Iowa errors. The Jayhawks never trailed plating three in the third, two in the fourth and one in the eighth. Leading the Kansas offense was senior Brett Lisher. The five-hole hitter went 4-for-5 with a run scored, a double and three RBI.

Iowa (4-4) recorded its first run in the third, to trail 2-1. Kurt Lee singled to short, stole second and advanced to third on a Muller infield single. He scored on a McQuillan single to center.

The Hawkeyes added another run in the fourth, to trail 5-2. The inning featured a Blaser leadoff single and Willis RBI groundout.

The Black and Gold plated two in the eighth. Dallas Burke led off with a single and advanced to third on a Blaser double to right. Pinch hitter Flanagan drove one in with a sacrifice fly and pinch hitter Corbeil picked up his second RBI of the season. Iowa’s offense fizzled in the ninth–the inning featured two walks and two left on base.

Iowa will conclude its four-game series against the Jayhawks tomorrow. First pitched is set for 1 p.m.

GAME SUMMARYIOWA        001   100   020   -   4  10  2KANSAS      203   200   01x   -   8  10  1
WP - Selik (3-0)LP - Robertson (2-1)