Senior Trio Wrestles Final NCAA Matches

March 20, 2010

NCAA Wrestling Session IV Photo Gallery | NCAA Wrestling Session V Photo Gallery

OMAHA, Neb. — Hawkeye seniors Ryan Morningstar (165), Phillip Keddy (184) and Dan Erekson (Hwt.) each wrestled their final collegiate match for the University of Iowa Saturday morning at the NCAA Championships in Omaha, NE. The Hawkeyes wrapped up their third-straight NCAA title Friday night, crowning eight all-Americans and sending five wrestlers to Saturday night’s championship finals, which are scheduled to start at 6:30 p.m. at the Qwest Center. Iowa leads the team race with 122.5 points, collecting its 23rd national title. Cornell is in second with 86 points (two finalists) and Oklahoma is in third with 69 (0 finalists).

Morningstar opened the round for Iowa with his 3-2 decision over Chris Brown of Old Dominion to place seventh. The seventh-seeded Hawkeye wrestled to his seed, collecting his 30th season victory. Morningstar ends his Hawkeye career with 110-40 record that spans four seasons between 157 and 165 pounds (2007-10). He posted a 65-21 career dual record, scoring 231 team points in dual competition. The Lisbon, IA, native is two-time all-American and four-time NCAA qualifier, Big Ten placewinner and Midlands placewinner for the Hawkeyes. He started 126 duals in his four-year career and wrestled 25 overtime matches.

Keddy, who was seeded ninth at the tournament, wrestled above his seed to place eighth at 184. He lost a 9-5 decision to #3 Dustin Kilgore of Kent State in the seventh-place match. Keddy finished his four years in an Iowa singlet with a 102-42 record at 184 pounds (2007-10). A three-time all-American, Keddy is a four-time NCAA qualifier, four-time Big Ten placewinner and three-time Midlands placewinner. The Vernal, UT, native posted a career dual record of 64-20, including a 23-1 mark last season. He started 84 duals for the Hawkeyes and scoring 256 team points in dual competition.

Erekson scored three takedowns in his college wrestling finale, beating #7 seed Jarod Trice of Central Michigan (8-2) for seventh place. The fifth-seeded Hawkeye senior finished the season with a 16-2 record. A two-time Big Ten champion and all-American, Erekson ends his Hawkeye career with a 69-37 record at 197 pounds and heavyweight (2006-10). He qualified for the NCAA Championships three times. The Eagle, ID, native started 53 duals for the Hawkeyes, scoring 145 team points in dual competition and pinning 28 opponents along the way.

Wrestling in Saturday night’s championship finals are Iowa seniors Daniel Dennis (133), Brent Metcalf (149) and Jay Borschel (174), sophomore Montell Marion (141) and redshirt freshman Matt McDonough (125). Metcalf will be making his third-straight finals appearance, while the other four Hawkeyes are appearing in their first. It is the first time that Iowa has had five NCAA finalists since sending six in 1997.

Saturday night’s NCAA championship finals will be aired on ESPNHD. Iowa fans can also follow the action via radio and internet audio broadcasts. Steven Grace and two-time Hawkeye NCAA champion and four-time all-American Mark Ironside will call the action live on AM-800, KXIC and Web audio broadcasts are available using the XXL All-Access subscription ($14.95 per month or $119.95 per year). Tickets to the event are sold out.

IOWA’S NCAA SEVENTH PLACE MATCH-UPS (Numbers indicate tournament seeds)
165 – #7 Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) dec. Chris Brown (Old Dominion), 3-1
184 – #3 Dustin Kilgore (Kent State) dec. #9 Phillip Keddy (Iowa), 9-5
Hwt. – #5 Dan Erekson (Iowa) dec. #7 Jarod Trice (Central Michigan), 8-2

Place Team – Points – Finalists
1. Iowa – 122.5 – 5
2. Cornell – 86 – 2
3. Oklahoma – 69 – 0
4. Iowa State – 67 – 3
5. Wisconsin – 66.5 – 1
6. Oklahoma State – 65 – 1
7. Ohio State – 62 – 1
8. Minnesota – 59 – 1
9. Penn State – 49 – 1
10. Missouri – 44 – 1

Complete 2010 NCAA Wrestling Team Brackets After Session Five in PDF Format

Complete 2010 NCAA Wrestling Team Standings After Session Five in PDF Format