GymHawks Kick Off Season With Annual Banquet

Oct. 20, 2010

Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone app!
Iowa and the Big Ten NetworkBig Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
24 Hawkeyes to Watch

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa women’s gymnastics team kicked off the 2010-11 season with its annual banquet Saturday. Past Hawkeyes were honored as new Hawkeyes were welcomed to the team.

“This is always a great event for us,” said Head Coach Larissa Libby. “Honoring the teams’ past accomplishments and welcoming the new team members really puts the upcoming season into perspective.”

With the future in sight, the Hawkeyes were able to reflect on a successful 2009-10 season. Not only was Iowa’s third place finish at the Big Ten Championships its best in six years, Libby and company returned to the NCAA Regionals for the third time in six years. Rebecca Simbhudas, then a junior, earned All-American honors while fellow junior Houry Gebeshian won a Big Ten title on beam.

Simbhudas was named first team all-Big Ten as Gebeshian and Jessa Hansen, a sophomore at the time, were second team all-Big Ten selections. Additionally, a dozen GymHawks received academic all-Big Ten honors.

The team was honored, both individually and collectively, for last season’s hard work and accomplishments. Academic and athletic awards given out included academic all-Big Ten, Dean’s list members, scholastic all-Americans, MVP, GymHawk Spirit award and Most Improved Gymnast.

“This banquet is a chance for everyone involved to celebrate the success of last season and really acclimate the new team members to what Iowa gymnastics is all about,” added Libby. “It’s always exciting to relive those moments, but at the end of the night, everyone knows the past is gone and it’s time to start building the future!”

2nd Team All American: Rebecca Simbhudas

Scholastic All American: Jessa Hansen, Heather Fomon, Houry Gebeshian, Andrea Hurlburt, Annie Szatkowski, Arielle Sucich and Rachel Nash.

1st Team All Big Ten: Rebecca Simbhudas>

2nd Team All Big Ten: Houry Gebeshian and Jessa Hansen

Academic All-Big Ten: Jenny Donar, Houry Gebeshian, Andrea Hurlburt, Jennie Schurman, Jessa Hansen, Rachel Corcoran, Heather Fomon, Jordan Eszlinger, Annie Szatkowski, Kelly Galau, Rachel Nash and Melissa Miller.

Dean’s List: Houry Gebeshian, Andrea Hurlburt, Rachel Corcoran, Arielle Sucich, Jennie Schurman, Heather Fomon, Amy Center, Olivia Beatty, Annie Szatkowski, Jessa Hansen, Rachel Nash and Kelly Galau

MVP: Rebecca Simbhudas

Most Improved: Jordan Eszlinger

GymHawk Spirit: Emma Stevenson