Midlands Releases Top Contenders List

Dec. 22, 2010

PARDON OUR PROGRESS! As friends of the UI and fans of the Hawkeyes know, the UI Athletics Department is well into a multi-million dollar revitalization of Carver-Hawkeye Arena. This important and exciting project has reduced for this season the number of ticket windows that are operational on game nights. Fans attending the home events of the 2010-11 UI men’s basketball, women’s basketball and wrestling teams are invited to avoid game night delays by purchasing their event tickets online or in advance of game day. If your schedule doesn’t allow for an advance purchase, we recommend you consider arriving at the Arena a little earlier than originally planned. Go Hawks!

EVANSTON, Ill. — The 2010 Midlands Tournament Committee has announced the top contenders for the 48th annual event, which takes place at Northwestern University on Dec. 29-30. The sixth-ranked Hawkeyes (7-0, 1-0 Big Ten) will try for their 22nd team title at the event, which will be held at Welsh-Ryan Arena on Northwestern’s campus. The defending team champion, Iowa has won the most team titles (21) in the 47 years of the meet.

Hawkeye sophomores Matt McDonough (125) and Grant Gambrall (184), who have identical 7-0 records, are both listed as the top wrestler in the their respective fields. Redshirt freshmen Tony Ramos (133) and Derek St. John (157), and senior Luke Lofthouse (197) are listed as the fourth-best competitors. Ramos is 4-0 on the season, while St. John is 7-0 and Lofthouse is 6-1. Sophomore Mark Ballweg (7-0) is listed as the fifth-best competitor at 141, while senior Jake Kerr is the seventh-best at 165 with a 4-1 record. Sophomore Nate Moore (133), redshirt freshman Ethen Lofthouse (174) and junior Blake Rasing (Hwt.) are listed as other contenders at their weight classes.

Although the final seeding for Midlands may extend beyond the top eight at each weight class, the pretournament contenders reflect only the top eight wrestlers and are subject to change. Final seeding for the event will be determined on Dec. 28. Press releases, tournament brackets and tournament notes will be available on the Northwestern University website, www.nusports.com.

Weight-by-Weight Top Midlands Contenders
1. Matt McDonough, Iowa
2. Brandon Precin, Northwestern
3. James Nicholson, Old Dominion
4. Jarrod Patterson, Oklahoma
5. Alan Waters, Missouri
6. Ryan Mango, Stanford
7. Joe Langel, Rutgers
8. Frank Lomas, Cal-Bakersfield
Other Contenders
Anthony Zanetta, Pittsburgh; Ryak Finch, Iowa State (Unattached); Thomas Williams, American; Derek Reber, Bucknell

1. Tyler Graff, Wisconsin
2. BJ Futrell, Illinois
3. Filip Novachkov, Cal Poly
4. Tony Ramos, Iowa
5. Kyle Hutter, Old Dominion
6. Scotti Sentes, Central Michigan
7. Levi Mele, Northwestern
8. Justin Paulsen, Stanford
Other Contenders
Frank Cagnina, Lehigh; Jose Mendoza, Cal State Bakersfield; Jordan Keller, Oklahoma; Nate Moore, Iowa; Jimmy Kirchner, Rider; Cashé Quiroga, Purdue

1. Jimmy Kennedy, Illinois
2. Zack Bailey, Oklahoma
3. Boris Novachkov, Cal Poly
4. Tyler Nauman, Pittsburgh
5. Mark Ballweg, Iowa
6. Chris Drouin, Iowa State
7. Todd Schravrien, Missouri
8. Kaleb Friedley, Northwestern
Other Contenders
Elijah Nacita, Cal State Bakersfield; Mike Koehnlein, Nebraska; John Kohler, Maryland; Matt Mariacher, American; Tristen DeShazer, Northern Illinois; Trevor Melde, Rutgers; Jon Kohler, Maryland; Kenny Jordan, Adams State

1. Kevin LeValley, Bucknell
2. Andrew Nadhir, Northwestern
3. Corey Jantzen, Harvard
4. Ganbayar Sanjaa, American
5. Mario Mason, Rutgers
6. Eric Terrazas, Illinois
7. Cole Schmitt, Wisconsin
8. Nate Carr Jr, Iowa State
Other Contenders
Joey Napoli, Lehigh; Nick Fisher, Cal-Poly; Zac Cibula, Rider; Dan Osterman, Michigan State; Nick Lester, Oklahoma; Kyle Bradley, Missouri

1. Steve Fittery, American
2. Jake Patacsil, Central WC
3. Jason Welch, Northwestern
4. Derek St. John, Iowa
5. Walter Peppelman, Harvard
6. Matt Lester, Oklahoma
7. James Fleming, Clarion
8. Bryan Deutsch, Northern Illinois
Other Contenders
David Cheza, Michigan State; Darrel Cocozzo, Rutgers; Barrett Abel, Cal Poly; Kyle John, Maryland; Trent Weatherman, Iowa State; Andrew Balch, Cal State Bakersfield

1. Andrew Howe, Wisconsin
2. Jordan Burroughs, Nebraska
3. Josh Asper, Maryland
4. Scott Winston, Rutgers
5. Zach Toal, Missouri
6. Andrew Sorenson, Iowa State
7. Jake Kerr, Iowa
8. Ryan DesRoches, Cal Poly
Other Contenders
Brandon Hatchett, Lehigh; Trevor Hall, Cal State Bakersfield; Mike Miller, Central Michigan; Brian Cobb, RoadRunner WC; Jim Resnick, Rider; Chase Nelson, Oklahoma; Ethan Headlee, Pittsburgh; Conrad Polz, Illinois

1. Jon Reader, Iowa State
2. Nick Amuchastegui, Stanford
3. Ben Bennett, Central Michigan
4. Tyler Caldwell, Oklahoma
5. Mike Letts, Maryland
6. Jordan Blanton, Illinois
7. Dorian Henderson, Missouri
8. Alex Caruso, Rutgers
Other Contenders
Austin Meys, Lehigh; Rob Morrison, Rider; Ben Jordan, Wisconsin; Ethen Lofthouse, Iowa ; Caleb Kolb, Nebraska; Brian Roddy, Northwestern

1. Grant Gambrall, Iowa
2. Robert Hamlin, Lehigh
3. Travis Rutt, Wisconsin
4. Josh Ihnen, Nebraska
5. Erich Schmidtke, Oklahoma
6. Tony Dallago, Illinois
7. Ian Hinton, Michigan State
8. Aaron Jones, Northwestern
Other Contenders
Mike Larson, Missouri; Ryan Loder, Northern Iowa; Max Thomusseit, Pittsburgh; Corey Peltier, Maryland; Lee Munster, Northwestern (Unattached)

1. Trevor Brandvold, Wisconsin
2. Zac Thomusseit, Pittsburgh
3. Jerome Ward, Iowa State
4. Luke Lofthouse, Iowa
5. Joe Kennedy, Lehigh
6. Riley Orozco, Cal State Bakersfield
7. Daniel Mitchell, American
8. Brent Haynes, Missouri
Other Contenders­
Alex Thomas, Clarion; Mario Gonzalez, Illinois; John Schoen, Northwestern; Jay Hahn, Bucknell; Ryan Smith, Cal-Poly; Keldrick Hall, Oklahoma; Andy Johnson, Nebraska; Tyler Smith, Rider

1. Zach Rey, Lehigh
2. Ryan Tomei, Pittsburgh
3. D.J. Russo, Rutgers
4. Ryan Flores, American
5. Dom Bradley, Missouri
6. Tucker Lane, Nebraska
7. Jarod Trice, Central Michigan
8. Nathan Fernandez, Oklahoma
Other Contenders
Eric Bugenhagen, Wisconsin; Christian Brantley, Northern Iowa; Mike McClure, Michigan State; Blake Rasing, Iowa ; Kyle Simonson, Iowa State; Atticus Disney, Cal Poly; Mike McMullan, Northwestern (Unattached); David Morgan, Cal State Bakersfield; David Wade, Eastern Michigan