5 Hawkeyes Earn Duhawk Titles

Feb. 6, 2012

Duhawk Open

DUBUQUE, Iowa – The University of Iowa crowned five champions at the Duhawk Open last Saturday on the campus of Loras College. Redshirt freshman Matt Gurule (125), senior Tyler Clark (133), junior Mark Ballweg (141), redshirt freshman Jacob Ballweg (149) and freshman Kris Klapprodt (174) all won championships at their respective weight classes. Ten Hawkeye wrestlers combined for a 31-8 record at the event.

Gurule picked up a pair of one-point victories and a major decision en route to his title at 125. Clark scored four bonus-point wins – three majors and a tech fall – on his way to the 133 pound title, his second title in as many weeks (Grand View Open).

Mark Ballweg came out on top of the 141-pound bracket that featured four Hawkeyes. Ballweg topped Ethan Owens in the semifinals, 8-2, before scoring a major decision over Josh Dziewa in the finals. Dziewa earned runner-up and Owens wrestled back to finish third. Charlie Joseph also competed for the Hawkeyes.

Iowa finished 1-2-3 in the 149 pound bracket. Jacob Ballweg finished a perfect day with a 7-2 win over teammate Brody Grothus in the 149 pound finals. Grothus finished in second place after scoring a 10-0 major decision over fellow freshman Jake Kadel in the semis. Kadel rebounded with a pair of victories in the consolation bracket to finish in third place.

Kris Klapprodt scored a pair of major decisions and swept through four matches on his way to the 174-pound championship. The Rapid City, S.D., native has now won 12 of his last 13 bouts.

2012 Duhawk Open Champions
125, Matt Gurule
133, Tyler Clark
141, Mark Ballweg
149, Jake Ballweg
157, Dalton Brown (Luther)
165, Bryce Lumzy (Upper Iowa)
174, Kris Klapprodt (Iowa)
184, Sam Upah (WC)
197, Kevin Hein (WC)
HWT, Connor Medbery (Wisconsin)