Hawkeyes Take Victory in Double Dual

Dec. 17, 2012

Complete results 12/17

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.–The University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving team claimed victories over Colorado College and Austin College in a double dual at Schlessman Natatorium in Colorado Springs, Colo. The Hawkeyes posted a 60-41 victory over Colorado College and a 60-18 win over Austin College.

Iowa kicked off the meet with first and second place finishes in the 200 medley relay. Sophomore Gigi Groya, freshman Olivia Kabacinski, junior Abbey Tuchscherer, and sophomore Heather Arseth swam to a first place finish in 1:45.96. The squad of sophomore Pamela Breitrick, junior Karolina Wartalowicz, freshman Ashley Horodyski, and junior Elise Borja swam to the wall in 1:48.58 to place second.

Iowa posted the top four finishes in the 200 free. Sophomore Becky Stoughton swam to the event title in 1:54.33. Junior Emily Hovren placed second (1:57.47), freshman Jennifer Weigand was third (1:59.39), and freshman Allie Orvis finished in fourth overall (1:59.95).

The Hawkeyes sprinted to the top four finishes in the 50 freestyle. Kabacinski posted a first place finish in 24.28, while freshman Maggie Hofstadter was second in 24.59. Sophomore Danielle Klunk finished third (24.81) overall, and Borja finished in fourth (25.30).

The Hawkeyes collected six individual wins during the competition. Sophomore Haley Gordon posted a first place finish, swimming a time of 2:11.50 to claim the victory in the 200 IM. Tuchscherer won the 100 fly in 58.23, while Arseth took the win in the 100 free, touching the wall in 52.21. Sophomore Audrey Kumm swam to first finish in the 100 back with a time of 1:00.59.

Later in the competition, junior Lindsay Seemann posted a first place finish in the 500 free (5:13.98). Wartalowicz collected the Hawkeyes last individual win of the night in the 100 breast. The junior swam to the wall in 1:06.40 to finish first.

Iowa concluded the meet with a victory in the 400 freestyle relay. The squad of senior Lauren Eytalis, Kumm, Hofstadter, and Wartalowicz touched in 3:44.87 to win the event.

The Hawkeyes return to action on Jan. 19 when they travel to Champaign, Ill., to take on Illinois. The competition is set to begin at 11 p.m. (C.T).