Hawkeyes Fall to Missouri at NWCA Duals

Feb. 23, 2013

Photo Gallery

MINNEAPOLIS — The second-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team lost to No. 6 Missouri tonight, 18-16, in the consolation finals at the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Dual Meet Championship. The Hawkeyes finished fourth in the event. Minnesota won the dual title, defeating top-ranked Oklahoma State, 28-9.

“We have work to do, and I’d say the same thing whether we win or lose,” said head coach Tom Brands. “We have to move forward. Things are maybe a little bit bizarre right now, and we have to stop going down that path.”

Iowa won just three contested matches and earned a forfeit at 133 pounds.

Josh Dziewa earned a major decision at 141 pounds in his first dual of the season. Dziewa stepped to the mat with a 14-2 record in tournament competition, and improved to 15-2 overall with a 10-2 victory over Nicholas Hucke. Dziewa opened the scoring with a five-point move in the first period, and added a takedown in each of the final two frames to earn his third major decision of the season.

Nick Moore (165) and Mike Evans (174) recorded Iowa’s other two wins. Moore got to the legs of No. 20 Zach Toal with 21 seconds left in sudden victory to win, 3-1, and Evans rallied from a 2-0 deficit with five unanswered points to finish No. 13 Todd Porter, 5-2.

Missouri won six bouts, including a pair of upsets at 125 and 157 pounds. Top-ranked Matt McDonough lost 4-0 to No. 4 Alan Waters at 125, and top-ranked Derek St. John surrendered a takedown in the final 30 seconds to drop a 4-3 decision to No. 19 Kyle Bradley at 157.

Missouri earned one-point wins at 174 and 197 pounds, and clinched the dual with a 3-1 overtime win at 285. Bobby Telford wrestled to a 2-2 tie against top-ranked Dom Bradley before surrendering a takedown in the second tiebreak period.

The Hawkeyes return to the mat March 9-10 at the Big Ten Championships in Champaign, Ill. Iowa will chase its 35th conference championship at Assembly Hall on the campus of Illinois.

Notes: Attendance was 2,344.

#2 IOWA 16, #6 Missouri 18
125 – #4 Alan Waters (M) dec. #1 Matt McDonough (IA), 4-0; 3-0
133 – #2 Tony Ramos (IA) win by forfeit; 6-3
141 – Josh Dziewa (IA) major dec. Nicholas Hucke (M), 10-2; 10-3
149 -#14 Drake Houdashelt (M) dec. Brody Grothus (IA), 6-2; 10-6
157 – #19 Kyle Brady (M) dec. #1 Derek St. John (IA), 4-3; 10-9
165 – #13 Nick Moore (IA) dec. #20 Zach Toal (M), 3-1 SV; 13-9
174 – #3 Mike Evans (IA) dec. #13 Todd Porter (M), 5-2; 16-9
184 -#13 Mike Larson (M) dec. #14 Ethen Lofthouse (IA), 3-2; 16-12
197 – #17 Brent Haynes (M) dec. Nathan Burak (IA), 1-0; 16-15
285 – #1 Dom Bradley (M) dec. #6 Bobby Telford (IA), 4-2 SV2; 16-18