Hawkeyes Place 3rd at B1G Championships

March 10, 2013

Photo Gallery

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — The University of Iowa wrestling team placed third today at the 2013 Big Ten Championships, totaling 133.5 points. Penn State (151) won the team title, and Minnesota (139) finished second. Action was held at the University of Illinois’ Assembly Hall in Champaign, Ill.

Iowa placed nine wrestlers fourth or better, more than any other school, but was unable to capture an individual crown for the first time since 2006.

“I could be very generic in my comments, and I am, but in my head there are a lot of specifics. We have to be tougher,” said Iowa head coach Tom Brands. “There’s no doubt we need to do certain things to be tougher. It starts with finishing. It starts with urgency in those situations.”

Iowa’s day started with five wins in the consolation semifinals. Derek St. John, Nick Moore, Ethen Lofthouse, Nathan Burak and Bobby Telford all advanced to the wrestle-back finals. St. John, Lofthouse and Telford each won their respective consolation bracket, while Moore and Burak placed fourth.

To advance to the consolation finals at 157 pounds, St. John pinned third-seeded Dylan Alton from Penn State with 14 seconds left in a 3-1 match. He went on to top Ohio State’s sixth-seeded Josh Demas, 3-2.

Lofthouse also scored a pin for the Hawkeyes in his consolation semifinal matchup at 184. The Avon, Utah, native stuck Illinois’ sixth-seeded junior Tony Dallago in 3:47. Lofthouse was winning the match 4-1 at the time, fueled by a pair of first period takedowns. Lofthouse took home third place after topping Nebraska’s Josh Ihnen, 8-1, with 3:23 riding time. Lofthouse scored a takedown in every period of the match.

Telford clinched third place with a 5-2 decision over third-seeded Connor Medbery from Wisconsin at 285. The Hockessin, Del., native advanced to the consolation finals with a 7-3 decision over Indiana’s Adam Chalfant.

In his fourth trip to the conference finals, senior Matt McDonough fell 10-4 to Illinois’ third-seeded sophomore Jesse Delgado at 125 pounds.

Junior Tony Ramos came up short in sudden victory against Ohio State’s top-seeded Logan Stieber. The match was tied, 1-1, after three periods before Steiber’s takedown midway through sudden victory clinched the win.

Mark Ballweg earned runner-up honors at 141 pounds. He fell to top-seeded Hunter Stieber of Ohio State, 8-3.

Sophomore Mike Evans dropped a 7-3 decision to fifth-seeded Matt Brown of Penn State. Tied 1-1 midway through the second period, Brown took advantage of an over-under hold, taking Evans to the mat for a five-point move that proved to be the difference.

“I think we did a better job of (being tougher) than maybe we did at the (NWCA) national duals,” added Brands. “Remember, there’s another day to go if this is the national tournament. We’re going another day and that could favor us.”

Each of Iowa’s nine place-winners has automatically qualified to compete at the 2013 NCAA Championships. The national tournament will be held March 21-23 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa.

Team – Points
1. Penn State – 151
2. Minnesota – 139
3. IOWA – 133.5
4. Ohio State – 109.5
5. Illinois – 85.5
6. Michigan – 75
7. Nebraska – 61
8. Northwestern – 56
9. Purdue – 38
10. Wisconsin – 37
11. Indiana – 30.5
12. Michigan State – 22

125 – #3 Jesse Delgado (ILL) dec. #1 Matt McDonough (IOWA), 10-4 (3:04 RT)
133 – #1 Logan Stieber (OSU) dec. #2 Tony Ramos (IOWA), 3-1 (SV1)
141 – #1 Hunter Stieber (OSU) dec. #3 Mark Ballweg (IOWA), 8-3 (1:52 RT)
174 – #5 Matt Brown (PSU) dec. #2 Mike Evans (IOWA), 7-3 (2:29 RT)

157 – #1 Derek St. John (IOWA) dec. #6 Josh Demas (OSU), 3-2
165 – #5 Cody Yohn (MINN) dec. #4 Nick Moore (IOWA), 6-1 (SV1)
184 – #5 Ethen Lofthouse (IOWA) dec. #3 Josh Ihnen (NEB), 8-1 (3:23 RT)
197 – #3 Mario Gonzalez (ILL) dec. #6 Nathan Burak (IOWA), 3-2
285 – #4 Bobby Telford (IOWA) dec. #3 Connor Medbery (WIS), 5-2

157 – #1 Derek St. John (IOWA) pinned #3 Dylan Alton (PSU), 6:36
165 – #4 Nick Moore (IOWA) dec. #6 Pierce Harger (NU), 7-2 (3:29 RT)
184 – #5 Ethen Lofthouse (IOWA) pinned #6 Tony Dallago (ILL), 3:47
197 – #6 Nathan Burak (IOWA) dec. #8 Max Huntley (MICH), 5-3
285 – #4 Bobby Telford (IOWA) dec. #6 Adam Chalfant (IND), 7-3