Ramos, St. John Advance to Semifinals

March 22, 2013

Session III Photo Gallery | Session III Video Highlights

DES MOINES, Iowa — University of Iowa wrestlers Tony Ramos and Derek St. John advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA Championships following quarterfinal wins today. The Hawkeyes have five wrestlers alive in the wrestle-backs and sit in fourth place overall with 39 points.

Penn State leads the team race with 77.5 points. Oklahoma State (65.5), Minnesota (49.5) and Missouri (38.5) round out the top five.

“We advanced two, but it wasn’t what we wanted,” said head coach Tom Brands. “There are no do-overs so we’ve got to get it going. We have some guys in unchartered territory so we have to find a way to get tough.”

Ramos earned his second straight trip to the semifinals with a 6-1 decision over Oklahoma State’s Jon Morrison. After a scoreless first period, Ramos recorded an escape to take a 1-0 lead midway through the second. He stretched that lead with a low single on the edge of the mat, taking a 3-0 advantage into the third period. Morrison’s only points came with an escape early in the third, but Ramos would have the final say with a takedown as time ran out in the match. He added 1:47 riding time for the final 6-1 victory.

St. John advanced to the semifinals with a 4-0 decision over Ohio State’s Josh Demas. He did his work in the second period, scoring an escape 10 seconds into the frame and adding a takedown with 50 seconds remaining. St. John went on to hold Demas down the entire third period, eventually piling up 2:19 of riding time en route to his second straight semifinal appearance. St. John is guaranteed All-America honors. He is the 32nd three-time All-American in school history.

Matt McDonough, Mark Ballweg, Mike Evans and Ethen Lofthouse all dropped quarterfinal decisions. All four wrestlers need to win one match in the consolation bracket to secure All-America honors.

McDonough’s 4-2 overtime loss was just his second career loss in the NCAA tournament (16-2). He entered the 125-pound bracket as a three-time finalist. Lofthouse is one win from earning All-America honors for the second straight year. He placed seventh at 174 pounds in 2012. Ballweg and Evans are both chasing their first career All-America honors.

Freshman Nathan Burak advanced through the 197-pound consolation bracket with a pair of wins. Burak scored a 3-1 win over Drexel’s Brandon Palik and put Binghamton’s Nathan Schiedel on his back in 2:34. He’ll face Wyoming’s Alfonso Hernandez for a spot on the All-America podium.

Sophomore Bobby Telford was forced to injury default for the second straight match. He earned a victory in the opening round before consecutive forfeits forced him from the tournament.

“We’re not where we want to be, but we have to come back, get tough and take what’s next,” added Brands.

Session IV of the NCAA Championships begins tonight at 6 p.m. ESPNU will televise the tournament and ESPN3 will provide a live stream of the event. Fans can listen to the championships online via Hawkeye All-Access or on the radio at AM-800 KXIC. Steven Grace and Mark Ironside will call the action live from Wells Fargo Arena.

Team Points
1. Penn State 77.5
2. Oklahoma State 65.5
3. Minnesota 49.5
4. IOWA 39
5. Missouri 38.5

IOWA’S QUARTERFINAL RESULTS (# indicates tournament seed)
125 – #6 Nahshon Garrett (Cornell) dec. #3 Matt McDonough (IOWA), 4-2 (SV1)
133 – #2 Tony Ramos (IOWA) dec. #7 Jon Morrison (OKST), 6-1 (1:47 RT)
141 – #2 Kendric Maple (OKLA) major dec. #7 Mark Ballweg (IOWA), 12-3 (3:00 RT)
157 – #2 Derek St. John (IOWA) dec. Josh Demas (OSU), 4-0 (2:19 RT)
174 – #6 Logan Storley (MINN) dec. #3 Mike Evans (IOWA), 3-2
184 – #4 Steve Bosak (Cornell) dec. #12 Ethen Lofthouse (IOWA), 4-1 (2:39 RT)

IOWA’S SEMIFINAL MATCHUPS (# indicates tournament seed)
133 – #2 Tony Ramos (IOWA) vs. #3 Tyler Graff (WISC)
157 – #2 Derek St. John (IOWA) vs. #6 Alex Dieringer (OKST)

IOWA’S CONSOLATION ROUND RESULTS (# indicates tournament seed)
165 – #9 Josh Veltre (Bloomsburg) dec. #10 Nick Moore (IOWA), 8-5
197 – Nathan Burak (IOWA) dec. Brandon Palik (Drexel), 3-1 (SV-1)
197 – Nathan Burak (IOWA) pinned #7 Nathan Schiedel (Binghamton), 2:34
285 – #6 Bobby Telford (IOWA) inj. default

IOWA’S CONSOLATION MATCHUPS (# indicates tournament seed)
125 – #3 Matt McDonough (IOWA) vs. #9 Trent Sprenkle (NDSU)
141 – #7 Mark Ballweg (IOWA) vs. # 11 Michael Nevinger (Cornell)
174 – #3 Mike Evans (IOWA) vs. Todd Porter (MIZZ)
184 – #12 Ethen Lofthouse (IOWA) vs. #10 Jacob Swartz (Boise St.)
197 – Nathan Burak (IOWA) vs. #4 Alfonso Hernandez (WYO)