3 Hawkeyes Earn First Team All-Big Ten Honors

Dec. 2, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz and junior left offensive tackle Brandon Scherff have been named first team All-Big Ten by a vote of league coaches. In addition, senior defensive back B.J. Lowery was a first team selection by league media. The teams were announced by the Big Ten Conference Monday on the BTN’s annual show revealing the 2013 all-conference teams and individual award winners.

The Big Ten coaches second unit includes senior right offensive tackle Brett Van Sloten, junior defensive tackle Carl Davis and senior linebackers Anthony Hitchens and James Morris. The Big Ten media second unit includes Scherff, Fiedorowicz, Morris and senior kicker Mike Meyer.

Hawkeye players earning honorable mention recognition on both the coaches and media units include sophomore center Austin Blythe, senior offensive guard Conor Boffeli, senior linebacker Christian Kirksey, senior defensive back Tanner Miller and junior defensive tackle Louis Trinca-Pasat.

Lowery was named honorable mention by Big Ten coaches, while Big Ten media named Davis, Hitchens, Van Sloten, senior long snapper Casey Kreiter and junior defensive back John Lowdermilk to the honorable mention squad. Morris is also Iowa’s recipient of the Big Ten’s Sportsmanship Award.

Fiedorowicz (Johnsburg, Ill.), has at least one reception in 30 straight games and his season totals include 26 catches for 253 yards and six touchdowns. Scherff (Denison, Iowa), has started every game at left tackle after missing seven games a year ago due to injury. Lowery (Cincinnati, Ohio), ranks second in the Big Ten and fourth nationally in pass break-ups (1.58). He totaled 55 tackles and three interceptions, with two touchdown returns.

Morris (Solon, Iowa), Hitchens (Lorain, Ohio), and Kirksey (St. Louis, Mo.), have combined to give the Hawkeyes one of the top linebacker crews in the nation. Hitchens leads Iowa in tackles (102), followed by Morris (99) and Kirksey (97). In career stops, Morris has 392, Kirksey 308 and Hitchens 260. Morris also leads Iowa with four interceptions.

Van Sloten (Decorah, Iowa), has been Iowa’s most durable offensive lineman over the past two seasons, starting all 24 games. Blythe and Boffeli started every game this season as Iowa started the same five offensive linemen in all 12 games.

Miller (Kalona, Iowa), has also enjoyed a steady career 35 games over the past three seasons. This season he has recorded 63 tackles and is tied for second on the team with three interceptions. He is the fourth current Hawkeyes with over 200 career tackles (215). Trinca-Pasat (Chicago), has started at defensive tackle in 24 straight games. He has 34 tackles this season, including seven tackles for loss and a recovered fumble.

Lowdermilk (Carrollton, Ohio), is in his first season as a starter and recorded 72 tackles, fourth on the team behind the trio of linebackers. Kreiter (DeWitt, Iowa), joined the team as a walk-on and has handled deep snaps for three consecutive years, snapping for all field goal and PAT attempts in every game.

Morris has been recognized for his talents both on and off the field. He has twice been named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week. He is one of 16 players in the nation to be named a National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete and he is one of four finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy and one of 12 finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy.

With an 8-4 record, Iowa is tied for third among all BCS schools in win total improvement from 2012 to 2013, trailing only Auburn (+8), Boston College (+6) and Missouri (+6). The Hawkeyes are tied with Michigan State and Duke. Iowa is bowl eligible for the 12th time in 13 seasons and has won at least eight games in four of the last six years.