Hawkeyes Gain Additional Postseason Honors

Dec. 20, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Several members of the University of Iowa football team have earned additional All-America and All-Big Ten recognition as a number of media outlets have recently released their postseason awards.

Junior offensive lineman Brandon Scherff has been named second team All-America by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and College Sports Madness, while earning third team All-America honors from Athlon Sports and Lindy’s.

Scherff started all 12 games at left tackle. Scherff was earlier named first team All-Big Ten by league coaches and has earned that same honor from Sporting News and College Sports Madness, while being named second team by Athlon’s.

The Sporting News also named senior defensive back B.J. Lowery and punt return specialist Kevonte Martin-Manley to its All-Big Ten first unit. Lowery is tied for third in the nation in pass break-ups (1.6); while Martin-Manley ranks seventh nationally in punt return average (16.2). As a wide receiver, Martin-Manley leads the Hawkeyes with 39 receptions for 384 yards and four touchdowns.

Senior tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz was named first team All-Big Ten by Athlon’s, while junior defensive lineman Carl Davis and senior linebackers James Morris and Anthony Hitchens earned second team recognition from that news outlet.

Fiedorowicz has at least one reception in 30 consecutive games. This season he has 26 receptions for 253 yards and six touchdowns, improving his career totals to 87 catches for 853 yards and 10 touchdowns. Hitchens leads Iowa in tackles (102) for the second straight season. Morris ranks sixth in career tackles (392) and this season leads the team in tackles for loss, sacks and interceptions. Davis registered 39 tackles while starting all 12 games at tackle.

In addition to Scherff, College Sports Madness recognized Martin-Manley as a first team All-Big Ten performer for his punt return skills. College Sports Madness also named Fiedorowicz and Morris to its second unit, while giving third team mention to Davis, Hitchens and senior offensive lineman Brett Van Sloten. Van Sloten started all 12 games at right tackle and has started all 24 games over the past two seasons.

True freshman defensive back Desmond King was named to Athlon’s Freshman All-America third team and was named first team on the BTN.com Big Ten Conference All-Freshman team. King started 11 games, recording 63 tackles, seven pass break-ups and two recovered fumbles.

In addition, 14 members of the Iowa football program were recently named to the 2013 Academic All-Big Ten team. Van Sloten was named to the Big Ten academic team for the fourth straight year, while Morris and senior long snapper Casey Kreiter were named for the third straight year. Morris was named to the Capital One Academic All-America first team.

Earning the league recognition for the second time were sophomore linebackers Cole Fisher and Travis Perry, senior wide receiver Don Shumpert, junior defensive lineman Louis Trinca-Pasat and junior running back Mark Weisman. Those recognized for the first year include senior offensive linemen Conor Boffeli and Nolan MacMillan, redshirt freshman tight end George Kittle, sophomore defensive back Jordan Lomax, sophomore defensive lineman Drew Ott and sophomore quarterback Jake Rudock.

Players are not eligible for academic All-Big Ten recognition in their first year on campus.

Iowa (8-4) will meet LSU (9-3) in the 2014 Outback Bowl on Jan. 1. Game time is 12:03 p.m. CT for the contest that will be televised on ESPN.