Iowa Falls to Missouri, 18-12, in NWCA Finals

Photo Gallery 1 media-icon-photogallery.gif | Photo Gallery 2 media-icon-photogallery.gif

Feb. 22, 2015


IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa wrestling team dropped an 18-12 decision to second-ranked Missouri on Sunday in the finals of the EAS/NWCA National Duals tournament.

The top-ranked Hawkeyes got wins from Cory Clark (133), Nick Moore (165), Mike Evans (174), and Bobby Telford (285), but lost four one-point decisions and six-of-10 bouts overall to suffer their first loss of the season.


“They rode tough on top and they control tied us to death. They weren’t rides where they have tricks. They are hard, driving forward type rides. They came in to beat us and they did at six weights,” said UI head coach Tom Brands.

Five matches featured two wrestlers ranked sixth or better, and Missouri won four of the six, starting at 125 where second-ranked Alan Waters reversed fifth-ranked Thomas Gilman in the first tiebreak to win 5-4.

Cory Clark evened the match, 3-3, with a 7-2 decision at 133, but Missouri won the next three bouts to open a 12-3 lead.

Fifth-ranked Lavion Mayes defeated sixth-ranked Josh Dziewa, 13-6. Fourth-ranked Drake Houdashelt used a second-period rideout to defeat second-ranked Brandon Sorensen, 2-1, and 12th-ranked Joseph LaVallee handled 16th-ranked Michael Kelly, 6-1.

Iowa chipped into the lead with consecutive wins at 165 and 174. Nick Moore pulled Iowa within 12-6 with a 3-2 win against Mike England, and Mike Evans used a takedown in the final minute to defeat fifth-ranked John Eblen, 4-1. Evans finished the weekend with a pin and two wins against ranked opponents.

“Personally I think it was okay,” was how Evans described his final event at Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

“The two tough matches I had, I let those guys stay in the matches, and I think I’ve got more fire power to open up those matches. Not just in the third or second period, but get to that leg in the first and finish, with a minute left, a minute thirty left.”

Evans’ win pulled Iowa within three points, 12-9, but Missouri clinched the dual with consecutive wins at 184 and 197.

Alex Meyer filled in for Sammy Brooks at 184 and led 14th-ranked Willie Miklus, 5-3, with 1:23 left in the match. Miklus tied the score with a takedown at 0:47 and used riding time to earn a 6-5 decision.

Riding time was again the difference at 197, where top-ranked J’Den Cox used 1:34 on top to defeat sixth-ranked Nathan Burak, 4-3.

Missouri led 18-9 before Bobby Telford stepped on the mat at 285. Telford was the only Hawkeye to score more than one takedown. He scored on the edge in the opening period and added second takedown in the third to defeat 16th-ranked Devin Mellon, 6-3.

“I know that we’ve got to do more,” Brands said, “and if you don’t do more the result you’re looking at right now is going to repeat itself.”

“It’s not the end of the year,” said Evans. “It’s not the end of the season. There’s another next competition so you’ve got to focus on that.

“I want to wrestle on the raised platform, so that’s what I’m looking forward to.”

The Hawkeyes (17-1) return to action at the Big Ten Championships in Columbus, Ohio, on March 7-8. The NCAA Championships are March 19-21 in St. Louis.

NOTES: Attendance was 6,846… Telford improves to 10-2 against ranked opponents… Sorensen lost for the first time in 14 matches… Iowa placed runner-up at the National Duals for the fourth time… Evans finished his Carver-Hawkeye Arena career with a 33-2 record… Meyer wrestled at 184 for the first time since 2013, he wrestled at 197 against Michigan State.

#1 IOWA 12, #2 Missouri 18
125 – #2 Alan Waters (MIS) dec. #5 Thomas Gilman (IA), 5-4 TB1; 0-3
133 – #6 Cory Clark (IA) dec. Zach Synon (MIS), 7-2; 3-3
141 – #5 Lavion Mayes (MIS) dec. #6 Josh Dziewa (IA), 13-6; 3-6
149 – #4 Drake Houdashelt (MIS) dec. #2 Brandon Sorensen (IA), 2-1; 3-9
157 – #12 Joseph LaVallee (MIS) dec. #16 Michael Kelly (IA), 6-1; 3-12
165 – #9 Nick Moore (IA) dec. Mike England (MIS), 3-2; 6-12
174 – #3 Mike Evans (IA) dec. #5 John Eblen (MIS), 4-1; 9-12
184 – #14 Willie Miklus (MIS) dec. Alex Meyer (IA), 6-5; 9-15
197 – #1 J’Den Cox (MIS) dec. #6 Nathan Burak (IA), 4-3; 9-18
285 – #4 Bobby Telford (IA) dec. #16 Devin Mellon (MIS), 6-3; 12-18

Print Friendly Version