No. 2 Iowa Dominates Iowa State, 33-6

Nov. 29, 2015

Photo Gallery media-icon-photogallery.gif


AMES, Iowa — The second-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team defeated No. 17 Iowa State, 33-6, on Sunday afternoon at Hilton Coliseum in the Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series.

The Hawkeyes dominated the top position and overcame a slow start to win for the 12th consecutive time in the series and retain possession of the Dan Gable Traveling Trophy.


The Hawkeyes dominated the home team in the final five bouts, scoring 26 of the final 28 takedowns and closing the dual with five straight wins, including two major decisions and two falls.

Sammy Brooks built a 22-8 lead before turning Dane Pestano at 6:45 for his third fall of the season at 184, and Sam Stoll made his Cy-Hawk debut with a pin in 3:30 against Quean Smith at 285.

Nathan Burak totaled nine takedowns in his 22-8 dismantling of Duke Egli at 197, and Thomas Gilman, typically Iowa’s leadoff man, closed the dual with a 12-3 major decision against Kyle Larson at 125.

That action happened on the heels of a first half that saw Iowa State hold an 8-5 advantage in takedowns. UI head coach Tom Brands said there were no philosophical changes made at the break, but rather the usual narrative.

“You get to the first takedown and you get to the point where your third period is stronger quicker,” Brands said. “That’s where you really start to control matches. We have to use the first period and a good philosophy there is when a guy’s done with the first period he feels like he’s been through an entire match, and that doesn’t happen by just going through the first period.

“You have to work hard and it’s not easy to do. There’s no shortcut to get to guys in the first period. You have to realize it’s hard work and you have to buy into it. The other thing is you don’t stay stagnant either, so you have to give these guys some credit.”

The Hawkeyes wrestled 19 minutes before scoring their first takedown. The dual was tied 3-3 when Brandon Sorensen got to the legs of 15th-ranked Gabe Moreno in the third period at 149. Sorensen piled on three takedowns in the final 1:24 and used two nearfall points to win, 11-3.

It was Iowa’s second of three wins against top 20 wrestlers. Fourth-ranked Alex Meyer scored a pair of takedowns and rode No. 13 Lelund Weatherspoon for three and one-half minutes to win 7-1 at 174, and second-ranked Cory Clark opened the dual with a 9-2 win against No. 7 Earl Hall at 133.

It was Clark’s fifth win in five career meetings with Hall, and this one came without a takedown. Clark trailed 2-0 in the opening minute before scoring the final nine points with a pair of escapes and six nearfall points.

“You have to realize that this is a style that we’re going to see a lot,” said Brands. “Guys are holding points and working hard to stay in the center of the mat, so it’s not something where you can go out there and let your opponent dictate the pace. That was an issue.”

Iowa led 10-6 at intermission behind Clark, Sorensen, and Edwin Cooper, Jr.’s 6-2 win at 157. Iowa State’s only victories were decisions at 141 and 165. Logan Ryan lost 6-1 to Dante Rodriguez, and Patrick Rhoads fell 10-9 to No. 11 Tanner Weatherman at 165.

“It seems like the theme here is we were slow starters for the first five weights, but give these guys credit for outscoring heavy in the third period,” Brands said. “We want to own the third period. We want to own the second period. We want to own the first period. We’re greedy.”

The Hawkeyes return to the mat Friday, Dec. 4 at 7 p.m. (CT) when South Dakota State visits Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Tickets are available at the UI Athletics Tickets over the phone at 800-IA-HAWKS or online at

NOTES: Attendance was 5,612… Iowa retains possession of the Dan Gable Trophy… the Hawkeyes have won 12 straight in the series, including the last six meetings since the inception of the traveling trophy… Tom Brands is 11-0 against the Cyclones… Iowa owns a 9-4 advantage in the 2015-16 Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series.

#2 IOWA 33, #17 Iowa State 6
133 – #2 Cory Clark (IA) dec. #7 Earl Hall (ISU), 9-2; 3-0
141 – Dante Rodriguez (ISU) dec. Logan Ryan (IA), 6-2; 3-3
149 – #3 Brandon Sorensen (IA) major dec. #15 Gabe Moreno (ISU), 11-3; 7-3
157 – Edwin Cooper, Jr. (IA) dec. Renaldo Rodriguez (ISU), 6-2; 10-3
165 – #11 Tanner Weatherman (ISU) dec. Patrick Rhoads (IA), 10-0; 10-6
174 – #4 Alex Meyer (IA) dec. #14 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU), 7-1; 13-6
184 – #12 Sammy Brooks (IA) pinned Dane Pestano (ISU), 6:45; 19-6
197 – #4 Nathan Burak (IA) major dec. Luke Egli (ISU), 22-8; 23-6
285 – Sam Stoll (IA) pinned Quean Smith (ISU), 3:30; 29-6
125 – #2 Thomas Gilman (IA) major dec. Kyle Larson (ISU), 12-3; 33-6

Print Friendly Version