Hawkeyes Advance 10 to Quarterfinals

Dec. 29, 2015


EVANSTON, Illinois — The University of Iowa wrestling team closed out the first session of the 53rd Ken Kraft Midlands Tournament in first place with 44.5 points, 11.5 points ahead of second place North Carolina State. The Hawkeyes posted a 26-5 individual record, 14 of those victories resulting in bonus points.

Defending champion Cory Clark contributed two bonus point victories at 133, pinning North Dakota State’s Nicolas Clunga at 1:48 and earning an 18-0 technical fall over Jacob Colon (Grand View).


Thomas Gilman, seeded first at 125, gathered a major decision victory in his lone first session match over Shakur Laney (Ohio U.), 19-6. This is Gilman’s third consecutive quarterfinal advancement at the Midlands, and his eighth consecutive bonus point match this season.

Junior Topher Carton started the day off strong at 141 with a technical fall over Nebraska’s Colton McCrystal, 21-6, and receiving a medical forfeit from Northwestern’s Jameson Oster. He fell short of a quarterfinal bid as seventh-seeded Steve Bleise (Northern Iowa) posted a 8-4 decision over Carton.

Iowa freshman Michael Kemerer, wrestling unattached, advanced to the quarterfinals at 149 pounds alongside sophomore teammate Brandon Sorensen. Kemerer collected two victories over two seeded opponents, an 18-3 technical fall over eleventh-seeded Clayton Ream (N. Dakota State) and an 8-3 decision over No. 6 Matthew Kraus (ASU). First-seeded Sorensen is making his third Midlands appearance and heads to the quarters with a pin, technical fall, and decision under his belt.

Fourth-seed Sammy Brooks advances to the quarterfinals at 184 for the fourth time in his career. Brooks posted a technical fall and major decision over Derek Hillman (Eastern Michigan) and Dane Pestano (Iowa State), respectively. He closed out the session with a 9-4 decision over Ben Schwery (SDSU).

In his first career Midlands appearance, senior Patrick Rhoads gained a quarterfinal berth with a 3-2 decision over #12 Joe Brewster (SDSU-unat.) and a 6-5 decision over Buffalo’s Tyler Rill. The two victories advance the 165-pounder’s record to 4-3 for the season.

Junior Alex Meyer and senior Nathan Burak, both seeded first at their respective weights, will be competing in the quarters of 174 and 197 pounds. Meyer posted a major decision over Northern Iowa’s Drew Foster and a 3-2 decision against Jason Grimes (American U), marking consecutive quarterfinal appearances for Meyer. Burak looks to defend his championship title as he overcame Nate Hall (Ohio U.), 19-4 and collected a 16-3 major decision over Marcus Harrington (Iowa State).

Edwin Cooper, Jr. will be making a quarterfinal appearance at 157 pounds for the first time in his career. Cooper recorded a 16-4 major decision over Logan Peterson (SDSU) and two decisions over Purdue’s Doug Welch and 10th-ranked John Van Brill (Rutgers), 7-1 and 3-2, respectively.

Fourth-seeded Sam Stoll has also collected his first quarterfinal berth at heavyweight after posting a pair of decisions over Arizona State’s Chace Eskam (4-1) and Wisconsin’s Brock Horwath (6-3).

Session II of the Midlands Championships begins at 7 p.m.(CT) tonight. Updated team standings and complete tournament brackets are available throughout the tournament at nusports.comand on track wrestling.com

SESSION I CHAMPIONSHIP BRACKET (# indicates tournament seed)
125 – #1 Thomas Gilman (IA) maj. dec. Shakur Laney (Ohio U.), 19-6
133 – #1 Cory Clark (IA) pinned Nicolas Clunga (North Dakota State), 1:48
133 – #1 Cory Clark (IA) tech. fall Jacob Colon (Grand View), 18-0
141 – Paul Glynn (IA-unat.) dec. Brandon Lapi (Buffalo), 6-2
141 – Gabe Grahek (Wis) dec. Paul Glynn (IA-unat.), 3-0
141 – #3 Anthony Ashnault (Rutgers) tech. fall Vince Turk (IA-unat.), 20-5
141 – Topher Carton (IA) tech. fall Colton McCrystal (Nebraska), 21-6
141 – Topher Carton (IA) medical forfeit Jameson Oster (Northwestern)
141 – #7 Steve Bleise (Northern Iowa) dec. Topher Carton (IA), 8-4
149 – #1 Brandon Sorensen (IA)pinned Jake Deangelo (North Carolina State), 4:07
149 – #1 Brandon Sorensen (IA) tech. fall Jason Bing (Franklin & M), 17-1
149 – #1 Brandon Sorensen (IA) dec. Josh Maruca (ASU-unat.), 6-0
149 – Michael Kemerer (IA-unat.)tech. fall #11 Clayton Ream (N. Dakota State), 18-3
149 – Michael Kemerer (IA-unat.)maj. dec. Cullen Cummings (Ohio U.), 11-3
149 – Michael Kemerer (IA-unat.)dec. #6 Matthew Kraus (ASU), 8-3
157 – #7 Edwin Cooper, Jr. (IA) maj. dec. Logan Peterson (SDSU), 16-4
157 – #7 Edwin Cooper, Jr. (IA) dec. Doug Welch (Purdue), 7-1
157 – #7 Edwin Cooper, Jr. (IA) dec. #10 John Van Brill (Rutgers), 3-2
165 – Patrick Rhoads (IA) dec. #12 Joe Brewster (SDSU-unat.), 3-2
165 – Patrick Rhoads (IA) dec. Tyler Rill (Buffalo), 6-5
174 – #1 Alex Meyer (IA) maj. dec. Drew Foster (Northern Iowa), 11-1
174 – #1 Alex Meyer (IA) dec. Jason Grimes (American U.), 3-2
184 – #4 Sammy Brooks (IA) tech. fall Derek Hillman (Eastern Mich.), 20-4
184 – #4 Sammy Brooks (IA) major dec. Dane Pestano (Iowa State), 17-5
184 – #4 Sammy Brooks (IA) dec. Ben Schwery (SDSU), 9-4
184 – #10 Cody Caldwell (Northern Iowa) dec. Cash Wilcke (IA-unat.), 6-3
197 – #1 Nathan Burak (IA) tech. fall Nate Hall (Ohio U.), 19-4
197 – #1 Nathan Burak (IA) major dec. Marcus Harrington (Iowa State), 16-3
197 – #3 Nate Rotert (SDSU) dec. Steven Holloway (IA-unat.), 11-9
285 – #4 Sam Stoll (IA) dec. Chace Eskam (Arizona St.), 4-1
285 – #4 Sam Stoll (IA) dec. Brock Horwath (Wisconsin), 6-3

141 – Jack Mutchnik (American U.) dec. Paul Glynn (IA-unat.), 4-1
141 – Vince Turk (IA-unat.) dec. Matthew Adcock (Wisc.-unat.), 5-3
141 – Vince Turk (IA-unat.) maj. dec. Will Clark (North Carolina State), 11-3
141 – Vince Turk (IA-unat.) medical forfeit #13 Ian Nickell (CSU Bakersfield)
184 – Cash Wilcke (IA-unat.) dec. Josh Casperson (SDSU), 2-1
197 – Steven Holloway (IA-unat.) dec. Logan Paxton (North Dakota State) 8-5

125 – #1 Thomas Gilman (IA) vs. #8 Keegan Calkins (Oregon State)
133 – #1 Cory Clark (IA) vs. Angelo Amenta (Columbia)
149 – #1 Brandon Sorensen (IA) vs. #8 Ken Theobald (Rutgers-unat.)
149 – Michael Kemerer (IA-unat.) vs. #3 Alexande Richardson (Old Dominion)
157 – #7 Edwin Cooper, Jr. (IA) vs. #2 Thomas Gantt (North Carolina State )
165 – Patrick Rhoads (IA) vs. #4 Tanner Weatherman (Iowa State)
174 – #1 Alex Meyer (IA) vs. #9 Phil Bakuckas (Rutgers)
184 – #4 Sammy Brooks (IA) vs. #5 Hayden Zillmer (North Dakota State)
197 – #1 Nathan Burak (IA) vs. #8 Michael Boykin (North Carolina State)
285 – #4 Sam Stoll (IA) vs. #5 Billy Smith (Rutgers)

141 – Vince Turk (IA-unat.) vs. Topher Carton (IA)
141 – Topher Carton (IA) vs. Vince Turk (IA-unat.)
184 – Cash Wilcke (IA-unat.) vs. Ben Schwery (SDSU)
197 – Steven Holloway (IA-unat.) vs. #13 Ryan Wolfe (Rider)

Print Friendly Version