Stuenkel Named Iowa Soccer's 2017 MVP

24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2016-17 | Hawk Talk Monthly — February 2018 | Fight For Iowa

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior midfielder Karly Stuenkel was voted as the Hawkeye soccer program’s Most Valuable Player during its annual team banquet.
Iowa also announced sophomore Devin Burns as the Offensive Player of the Year, while a trio of Hawkeyes — seniors Rachele Armand and Corey Burns and junior Morgan Kemerling — shared the Defensive Player of the Year honors.
Freshman Morgan Krause was voted as the team’s Newcomer of the Year, and senior Katharine Woodruff and Kemerling shared the Hawk Award.
Stuenkel earned team MVP honor for a second straight season, becoming the sixth Hawkeye to earn the distinction more than once.  The St. Charles, Illinois, native was team captain in 2017 and she finished the season with four goals and four assists.
Devin Burns was Iowa’s top goal scorer in 2017, finishing the year with nine goals and five assists.  The Green Oaks, Illinois, native notched her first career hat trick in a victory over Southern Utah and her nine strikes were the most by a Hawkeye since 2014.
Kemerling (2016) and Armand (2015) were tabbed as the team’s Defensive Player of the Year for a second time in their careers, while Corey Burns — a 2017 Big Ten All-Tournament team selection — earned the honor for the first time.  The trio helped Iowa post seven shutouts in 2017.
Krause was Iowa’s top newcomer, seeing action in all 19 games as a defender. She logged 1,323 minutes — the sixth-most on the team — as a defender.  She tallied her first career point at Michigan State.
Woodruff and Kemerling became the first pair of Hawkeye teammates to share the Hawk Award.  The honor is presented to players that are strong in the classroom, community, and on the soccer field. It honors a player that displays hard work, dedication, and selflessness, and has a desire to improve on a daily basis.
The Hawkeyes finished the 2017 season with nine victories and they advanced to the Big Ten Tournament for the first time since 2014.