13 Hawkeyes Added to HWC Showdown Undercard

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa wrestling program announced Tuesday that 13 Hawkeyes have been added to an undercard and will compete Sunday, Nov. 1, at the Hawkeye Wrestling Club Showdown Open at Xtream Arena in Coralville, Iowa.

Among the 13 student-athletes added to the event are All-Americans Abe Assad, Max Murin, Jacob Warner and Kaleb Young. Wrestling fans will also get their first look at Hawkeye freshmen Patrick Kennedy, Bretli Reyna and Jesse Ybarra.

The undercard begins at 4 p.m. (CT). The main event, featuring two-time NCAA champion Spencer Lee and All-America teammates Austin DeSanto, Jaydin Eierman, Alex Marinelli, Michael Kemerer and Tony Cassioppi, begins at 6 p.m.

A total of 19 Hawkeyes are competing in a freestyle wrestling dual format.

Tickets to the HWC Showdown are on sale for $30 at XtreamArena.com and at the door. Doors open to Xtream Arena at 3 p.m.

The HWC Showdown Open is streamed live at Trackwrestling.com.


Jesse Ybarra vs. Nodir Safarov

Justin Stickley vs. Carter Happel

Bretli Reyna vs. Cobe Siebrecht

Max Murin vs. Mitch McKee

Kaleb Young vs. Jeremiah Moody

Patrick Kennedy vs. Myles Wilson

Nelson Brands vs. Abe Assad

Jacob Warner vs. Zach Glazier


Spencer Lee vs. Zach Sanders

Sarah Hildebrandt vs. Erin Golston

Austin DeSanto vs. Bryce Meredith

Jaydin Eierman vs. Vladimer Khinchegashvili

Pat Lugo vs. Matthew Kolodzik

Alex Marinelli vs. James Green

Precious Bell vs. Jordan Nelson

Michael Kemerer vs. Tommy Gantt

Tony Cassioppi vs. Nick Gwiazdowski

*Freestyle wrestling discipline (two 3-minute periods).