Lee, Eierman Highlight HWC Showdown Open

CORALVILLE, Iowa – Nineteen members of University of Iowa wrestling program competed at the inaugural Hawkeye Wrestling Club Showdown Open on Sunday at Xtream Arena in Coralville, Iowa.

The main event opened with a fall from reigning Hodge Trophy winner and two-time NCAA champion Spencer Lee. Lee needed one minute, 17 seconds to pin former Minnesota All-American Zach Sanders. Lee led 8-0 at the time of the fall.

Jaydin Eierman, a graduate transfer from Missouri, used a pair of second-period takedowns to defeat 2016 Olympic champion Vladimer Khinchegashvili, 4-1.

All-Americans Max Murin, Kaleb Young and Jacob Warner picked up wins in the undercard. Murin defeated former Minnesota All-American Mitch McKee, 4-2. Young won by technical superiority against former teammate Jeremiah Moody, 11-0. Warner blanked teammate Zach Glazier, 10-0.

Carter Happel, Cobe Siebrecht, Patrick Kennedy and Nelson Brands also won their respective intrasquad bouts.



Nodir Safarov def. Jesse Ybarra, 12-4

Carter Happel def. Justin Stickley, 11-7

Cobe Siebrecht tech. fall Leif Schroeder, 10-0 (0:58)

Max Murin def. Mitch McKee, 4-2

Kaleb Young tech. fall Jeremiah Moody, 11-0 (2:24)

Patrick Kennedy def. Myles Wilson, 8-5

Nelson Brands dec. Abe Assad, 9-0

Jacob Warner tech. fall Zach Glazier, 10-0



59 kg: Spencer Lee pinned Zach Sanders, 1:17

52 kg: Erin Golston pinned Devyn Gomez, 0:57

141 pounds: Bryce Meredith def. Austin DeSanto, 11-3

67 kg: Jaydin Eierman def. Vladimer Khinchegashvili, 4-1

153 pounds: Pat Lugo def. Matthew Kolodzik, 7-2

75 kg: James Green def. Alex Marinelli, 5-4

170 pounds: Precious Bell def. Jordan Nelson, 9-0

176 pounds: Tommy Gantt  def. Michael Kemerer, 10-6

125 kg: Nick Gwiazdowski tech. fall Tony Cassioppi, 10-0

*Freestyle wrestling discipline (two 3-minute periods).