Match Notes: Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series

OPPONENT #1 IOWA vs. #13 IOWA STATE (Hilton Coliseum)
DATE Sunday, Dec. 5
KICKOFF 6 p.m. (CT)

The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team travels to Ames, Iowa, to face No. 13 Iowa State in the annual Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series on Sunday at 6 p.m. (CT). The dual is streamed live from Hilton Coliseum on ESPN+.

The Iowa-Iowa State wrestling rivalry introduced the Dan Gable Traveling Trophy in 2010. In a joint collaboration, the schools announced the winner of the annual dual would take possession of a trophy representing Iowa State’s former two-time NCAA Champion and Iowa’s 15-time NCAA championship coach. Iowa has won every meeting since the trophy’s inception (10-0).

Year: Score, Location
2010: 22-13 Carver-Hawkeye Arena
2011: 27-9 at Iowa State
2012: 32-3 Carver-Hawkeye Arena
2013: 23-9 at Iowa State
2014: 28-8 Carver-Hawkeye Arena
2015: 33-6 at Iowa State
2016: 26-9 Carver-Hawkeye Arena
2017-18: 35-6 at Iowa State
2018-19: 19-18 Carver-Hawkeye Arena
2019-20: 29-6 at Iowa State

Iowa leads the all-time series, 66-16-2. The Hawkeyes have won 16 straight, 31 of the last 32, and 55 of the last 59 meetings. Iowa has won the last eight meetings in Ames, and has not lost to Iowa State on the road since Dec. 7, 2003 (21-13). Iowa State’s last win in the series was 19-16 on Dec. 5, 2004, in Iowa City.

The Cy-Hawk Series is in its 17th season in 2021-22 and is sponsored for the 10th time by Iowa Corn. Iowa won the 2019-20 series, 13-8, and leads the all-time series to 8-7-1. The Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series was paused during 2020-21 as Covid-19 restrictions prevented the teams from meeting in head to head match ups.
Iowa leads the 2021-22 series, 7-4, following wins in soccer, football and volleyball. Iowa State swept men’s and women’s cross country. Iowa wrestling owns a 15-1 lead in the Cy-Hawk Series duals. The Cyclones won the first meeting in 2004. Iowa has won the last 15. (Iowa has won 16 straight overall, including a meeting at the National Duals.) The series awards two points (except football, which is worth three) to the winning school in each head-to-head match-up between the two institutions. Additionally, one point is awarded to an institution if the graduation rate of its student-athletes is greater than the national average as reported each fall by the NCAA.

University of Iowa head coach Tom Brands is 15-0 all-time against Iowa State. During that stretch, the Hawkeyes have won by an average of 15.4 points per dual, outscoring Iowa State, 395-164. The slimmest margin of victory over the last 11 meetings was an 19-18 win Iowa City in 2018. The largest margin of victory was 29 points, first a 32-3 win in Iowa City in 2012, and then a 35-6 win in Ames in 2018.

Alex Marinelli is making his fourth appearance in the annual Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series. Marinelli won by fall in 2018 at Hilton Coliseum and again by fall in 2018 at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. He won by 13-7 decision the last time the teams met in Ames in 2019.

Michael Kemerer is 3-0 in Cy-Hawk duals, winning by an 8-7 decision in 2016, an 11-5 decision in 2018 and a 14-5 major decision in 2019.

Kaleb Young and Jacob Warner are both making their third Cy-Hawk appearances. Young has split a pair of decisions and Warner is 2-0 with a 5-4 win over No. 5 Willie Miklus in 2018 and an 11-2 major decision in 2019 at Hilton Coliseum. Warner’s Cy-Hawk match in 2018 was his collegiate debut.

Austin DeSanto is 1-1 in two Cy-Hawk Appearances. He dropped a 14-9 decision in 2018 and won by 16-5 major decision in his only trip to Hilton Coliseum in 2019.

Myles Wilson injury defaulted from his only Cy-Hawk appearance, a 174-pound bout in 2018.

Nelson Brands won his only previous Cy-Hawk match, defeating 184-pound No. 7 Sam Colbray, 4-3, in TB1 in 2019.

Tony Cassioppi defeated No. 16 Gannon Gremmel, 6-0, in 2019, his only previous Cy-Hawk matchup.

The defending NCAA champion Hawkeyes are ranked No. 1 in the NWCA Coaches Poll for the 24th consecutive week. The 24-week stretch is the longest since Iowa spent 38 weeks at the top of the rankings from Jan. 15, 2008 until Feb. 23, 2010. (The poll started weekly rankings in 1997. Bi-weekly and monthly rankings started in 1960).
Since 1960, the Hawkeyes have appeared at the top spot of the national poll 2016 times.

Iowa has won 20 straight overall, the longest active winning streak in the country.