Kennedy, Rathjen Win Titles at Last Chance Open

AMES, Iowa — University of Iowa wrestlers Caleb Rathjen and Patrick Kennedy each won titles Sunday the Last Chance Open in Ames, Iowa.

Rathjen advanced through the opening round with an overtime decision and won by identical 11-5 scores in the semis and finals to win the 149-pound open division.

Kennedy won the 165-pound bracket win a 3-0 mark. He registered a 51-second fall in the opening round, won by 19-4 technical fall in the semifinals and defeated Iowa State’s Grant Stotts, 8-4, in the finals. The tournament title was the third for Kennedy this season. He also won the 165-pound bracket at the Harold Nichols Open and the UNI Open.

Charles Matthews (133) and Brennan Swafford (174) placed fourth for the Hawkeyes. All five of Iowa’s entries competed unattached. Complete results are available at


Open Division 133
Charles Matthews — 4th place
Quarterfinal – Sam Hrabovsky (Iowa State) won by major decision over Charles Matthews (Iowa) (Maj 13-2)
Cons. Round 1 – Charles Matthews (Iowa) won by decision over Zachary Foote (Iowa State Wrestling Club) (Dec 6-4)
Cons. Semi – Charles Matthews (Iowa) won in sudden victory – 1 over Lou Fincher (Arizona State) (SV-1 15-13)
3rd Place Match – Sam Hrabovsky (Iowa State) won by tech fall over Charles Matthews (Iowa) (TF 16-0)

Open Division 149
Caleb Rathjen — 1st place
Quarterfinal – Caleb Rathjen (Iowa) won in sudden victory – 1 over Tagen Jamison (Minnesota Storm) (SV-1 6-4)
Semifinal – Caleb Rathjen (Iowa) won by decision over Drew Roberts (Minnesota) (Dec 11-5)
1st Place Match – Caleb Rathjen (Iowa) won by decision over Blaine Brenner (Minnesota) (Dec 11-5)

Open Division 165
Jack McClimon
Quarterfinal – Austin Kraisser (Iowa State) won by major decision over Jack McClimon (Iowa) (Maj 13-4)
Cons. Round 1 – Isaias Estrada (North Carolina) won by fall over Jack McClimon (Iowa) (Fall 1:03)

Open Division 165
Patrick Kennedy — 1st place
Quarterfinal – Patrick Kennedy (Iowa) won by fall over Eliott Smith (Iowa State Wrestling Club) (Fall 0:51)
Semifinal – Patrick Kennedy (Iowa) won by tech fall over Kendall Norfleet (Arizona State) (TF 19-4)
1st Place Match – Patrick Kennedy (Iowa) won by decision over Grant Stotts (Iowa State) (Dec 8-4)

Open Division 174
Brennan Swafford — 4th place
Quarterfinal – Brennan Swafford (Iowa) won by decision over Julien Broderson (Iowa State) (Dec 4-1)
Semifinal – Lance Runyon (Northern Iowa) won by decision over Brennan Swafford (Iowa) (Dec 12-8)
Cons. Semi – Brennan Swafford (Iowa) won by major decision over Maxwell Wilner (Arizona State) (Maj 11-3)
3rd Place Match – Julien Broderson (Iowa State) won by medical forfeit over Brennan Swafford (Iowa) (MFF)