Schriever, Rhodes Win Titles at Luther Open

DECORAH, Iowa – Sophomore Cullan Schriever and freshman Jace Rhodes both claimed 133-pound titles at the Luther Open on Saturday at the Regents Center Gymnasium. Schriever won the elite bracket, Rhodes won the silver bracket.

Schreiver, who was competing unattached, secured bonus points in three of his four matches. The Mason City, Iowa, native opened the day with two technical falls, and he won his championship match by major decision over Upper Iowa’s Kaden Anderlik, 13-5.

Rhodes won the “freshman-only” bracket, posting four wins in his collegiate debut. The Mason City, Iowa, native had a pair of major decisions to open the tournament and he defeated Dominik Mallinder of Wisconsin-Whitewater, 9-5, to win his first career open title.

The Hawkeyes posted a 26-7 record in the tournament and all eight wrestlers placed. Iowa had two firsts, one second, three thirds, one fourth and one fifth-place finish.

Freshman Kolby Franklin finished as the runner-up in the 197-pound elite bracket. He had a pin, tech fall and major decision to advance to the championship match before falling to Wisconsin Oshko’s Beau Yineman, 9-4.

Iowa freshmen Mickey Griffith, Bradley Hill and Gage Marty all tallied third-place finishes.

Griffith went 3-1 in the 184-pound elite bracket with a technical fall and major decision in his opening two matches. After dropping a decision in the semifinals, Griffith battled back to finish third after defeating Augsburg’s Bentley Schwanebeck-Ost, 5-4.

Hill won a pair of matches via a fall and decision to advance to the 285 elite bracket semifinals, where he fell, 3-2, to Augsburg’s Tyler Kim. Hill finished third via a medical forfeit.

Marty notched Iowa’s final third place finish in the silver heavyweight bracket. The Solon, Iowa, native had a 48-second fall in his second match and he closed out his collegiate debut with a 10-0 major decision over Wartburg’s David Pierson.

The second-ranked Hawkeyes open their dual season Sunday, hosting California Baptist at 1 p.m. (CT) at Carver-Hawkeye Arena.


133 Elite Bracket
Cullan Schriever (UI-UNA) tech fall Denis Murphy (UW-Oshko), 21-4
Cullan Schriever (UI-UNA) tech fall Yousuf Zigan (Luther), 19-2
Cullan Schriever (UI-UNA) dec. Cade Willis (Augsburg), 7-5
Cullan Schriever (UI-UNA) major dec. Kaden Anderlik (Upper Iowa), 13-5 – First place

157 Elite Bracket
Joe Kelly (UI-UNA) dec. Dylan Falk (Coe), 13-6
Joe Kelly (UI-UNA) dec. Jackson Rolfs (Upper Iowa), 6-3
Joe Kelly (UI-UNA) pinned Travis Guzman (Nebraska Wesley), 3:46
Drake Hayward (Minnesota State) dec. Joe Kelly (UI – UNA), 6-2
Chance Throndson (Upper Iowa) dec. Joe Kelly (UI – UNA), 7-4 — Fourth place

184 Elite Bracket
Mickey Griffith (UI) tech fall Colby Lape (Augustana, Ill.), 15-0
Mickey Griffith (UI) major dec. Thomas Culp (Eureka), 13-3
Shane Liegel (Loras) dec. Mickey Griffith (UI), 8-3
Mickey Griffith (UI) dec. Bentley Schwanebeck-Ost (Augsburg), 5-4 – Third place

197 Elite Bracket
Kolby Franklin (UI) pins Mathiew Arsenault (Coe), 0:35
Kolby Franklin (UI) tech fall Mason Askelsen (Minnesota State), 15-0
Kolby Franklin (UI) major dec. Jared Voss (Coe), 19-6
Beau Yineman (UW-Oshko) dec. Kolby Franklin (UI), 9-4 – Second place

285 Elite Bracket
Bradley Hill (UI) pins Quinn Wilcoxen (Cornell), 0:39
Bradley Hill (UI) dec. Walter West (Luther), 7-3
Tyler Kim (Augsburg) dec. Bradley Hill (UI), 3-2
Bradley Hill (UI) wins by MFF Zach Ryg (Upper Iowa) – Third place

133 Silver Bracket
Jace Rhodes (UI) major dec. Jackson McCormick (Rochester Community), 14-4
Jace Rhodes (UI) major dec. Nosa Egbon (15-3)
Jace Rhodes (UI) dec. Justin Fortungno (UW-Whitewater), 8-3
Jace Rhodes (UI) dec. Dominik Mallinder (UW-Whitewater), 9-5 – First Place

285 Silver Bracket
Easton Fleshman (UI) dec. Landen Schmemel (Cornell), 9-3
Reed Parrish (Rochester Community) dec. Easton Fleshman (UI), 8-3
Easton Fleshman (UI) dec. Andrew Keeler (Luther), 1-0
Easton Fleshman (UI) dec. J. Peacy (Wisconsin-UNA), 3-1 (SV1)
Easton Fleshman (UI) pinned Cayden Miller (Iowa State), 2:35 – Fifth place

Gage Marty (UI) dec. Jordan Lewis (UW-Whitewater), 3-1 (SV1)
Gage Marty (UI) pinned Kamond Manning (NIACC), 0:48
Robert Beese (Augsburg) dec. Gage Marty (UI), 1-0
Gage Marty (UI) major dec. David Pierrson (Wartburg), 10-0 – Third place