5 Hawkeyes Place at Harold Nichols Cyclone Open

AMES, Iowa – Five University of Iowa wrestlers placed at the Harold Nichols Cyclone Open on Saturday at Hilton Coliseum.

The Hawkeyes won 14 matches during the tournament, posting one second, three third and one fourth place finish.

Freshman Kolby Franklin was the highest place winner, finishing as the runner up in the 197-pound bracket. Franklin fell to UNI’s Wyatt Voelker, 3-1, in the championship bout.

After falling in the quarterfinals, freshman Joel Jesuroga battled back, winning four straight matches to finish third at 149 pounds. Jesuroga majored James Edwards of the Iowa State Wrestling Club, 13-2, pinned unattached wrestler Colton Cahill in 1:47 and had back-to-back decisions, downing Wisconsin’s Aidan Medora, 2-1 in the first tiebreaker, and 3-2 over UNI’s Adam Allard. Jesuroga is 9-1 this season.

Freshman Aiden Riggins made his Hawkeye debut, going 3-1 in the 157-pound bracket to place third. Riggins had three decisions on the day, including a 7-3 win over Iowa State’s Andrew Huddleston in the third-place bout.

Freshmen heavyweights Bradley Hill and Gage Marty combined to win four matches in the 285-pound bracket. Hill had a 28-second fall over Wisconsin’s Jonah Schmidtke to advance to the third-place bout. The two Hawkeyes squared off with Marty winning in a 1:09 fall to place third.

Iowa returns to action Dec. 4, hosting Iowa State in the Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series dual at 1:30 p.m. (CT) inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

133 Bracket
Brock Bobzien (Wisconsin RTC) pinned Jace Rhodes (UI), 7:00
Jace Rhodes (UI) def. Nicolar Rivera (Wis.), MFF
Garrett Funk (UNI) dec. Jace Rhodes (UI), 6-1

149 Bracket
Joel Jesuroga (UI) dec. Cody Goebel (Wis.), 3-2
Ryder Downey (UNI) dec. Joel Jesuroga (UI), 5-3
Joel Jesuroga (UI) major dec. James Edwards (ISWC), 13-2
Joel Jesuroga (UI) pinned Colton Cahill (UNA), 1:47
Joel Jesuroga (UI) dec. Aidan Medora (Wis.), 2-1 (TB1)
Joel Jesuroga (UI) dec. Adam Allard (UNI), 3-2 – Third Place

157 Bracket
Aiden Riggins (UI) dec. Brock Woodcock (St. Clair), 7-5
Da’Jun Johnson (UNA-UNI) dec. Aiden Riggins (UI), 5-2
Aiden Riggins (UI) dec. Drew Scharenbrock (Wis.), 4-3
Aiden Riggins (UI) dec. Andrew Huddleston (ISU), 7-3 – Third Place

197 Bracket
Kolby Franklin (UI) dec. Kalob Runyon (UNI), 7-3
Wyatt Voelker (UNI) dec. Kolby Franklin (UI), 3-1 – Second Place

285 Bracket
Peter Christensen (Wis.) dec. Gage Marty (UI), 5-3
Gage Marty (UI) dec. Brooks Empey (Wis.), 3-1
Gage Marty (UI) pinned Bradley Hill (UI), 1:09 – Third Place

Gannon Rosenfeld (Wis.) dec. Bradley Hill (UI), 5-3
Bradley Hill (UI) dec. Ryder Wiese (UNA), 7-2
Bradley Hill (UI) pinned Jonah Schmidtke (Wis.), 0:28
Gage Marty (UI) pinned Bradley Hill (UI), 1:09 – Fourth Place