Seegers and Anthony Named to Midseason Watch Lists

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior shortstop Michael Seegers was named to the midseason Brooks Wallace Award Watch List and redshirt sophomore Keaton Anthony was named to the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award Watch List, it was announced Monday by the College Baseball Foundation.

Both awards will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this summer.

The Brooks Wallace award honors the nation’s top shortstop and is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, who played for the Red Raiders from 1977 to 1980. The initial midseason list headlines 101 of the most talented shortstops in Division I college baseball.

Seegers has started 34 games this season posting a 0.970 fielding percentage. He has tallied only five errors in 139 chances. The Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, native holds a .269 batting average with 35 hits this season.

The Two-Way Player of the Year award is named for former Washington State University standout John Olerud, who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s. He was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The midseason watch list features 47 two-way players.

Anthony is leading the Hawkeyes with a .359 batting average. He leads the NCAA in doubles (19) and doubles per game (0.56). He has hit seven home runs and plated 29 RBIs. The Hoschton, Georgia, native has a 4.95 ERA in nine appearances with six starts. He has a 2-0 record with 20 innings pitched and has struck out 14.

Former Hawkeye Nick Roscetti was a finalist for the Brooks Wallace Award in 2016 and former Hawkeye Tyler Peyton was a semifinalist for the Olerud Award in 2015.

The Hawkeyes host Bradley in a midweek game tonight at 6:05 pm before a three-game home stand against Nebraska April 21-23.