Hawkeyes Win Six Matches in Session I

KANSAS CITY, Missouri The University of Iowa wrestling team won six of nine matches, including 4 bonus point victories, during Session I of the 2024 NCAA Championships on Thursday afternoon at the T-Mobile Center.

Iowa got the day started with three straight bonus point victories.

At 125 No. 3 seed Drake Ayala put together a 10-2 major decision over 30th-seeded Elijah Griffin of California Baptist.

No. 15 seed Brody Teske followed with a 12-4 major decision over the No. 18 seed South Dakota State’s Derick Cardinal at 133.

At 141, No. 3 seed Real Woods needed only 4:36 to record a technical fall over 30th seeded Kai Owen of Columbia. It was Woods’ 10th victory all-time at the NCAA tournament.

10th seeded Jared Franek won in tiebreakers against No. 23 Joey Blaze of Purdue. After being tied 1-1 through four periods Franek escaped with four seconds of riding time remaining to earn the win.

The six-seed at 165 pounds, Michael Caliendo used three takedowns and riding time to put together an 11-3 major decision over the No. 27 seed Blane Brenner of Minnesota.

Bradley Hill gave the Hawkeyes an upset victory as the 25-seeded heavyweight dispatched No. 8 seed Owen Trephan, 4-2.

Iowa fell to the consolation bracket at 149, 174 and 197 pounds. No. 13 Caleb Rathjen got caught in a cradle and gave up seven points at the end of the third period in a 12-5 loss to Oklahoma State’s 20th-seeded Jordan Williams and No. 12 seed Patrick Kennedy gave up a takedown with 17 seconds remaining to lose to North Carolina’s 21st-seeded Tyler Eischens.

No. 7 seed Zach Glazier gave up a takedown in sudden victory to fall to No. 26 seed Andy Smith of Virginia Tech.

Iowa is ninth in the team standings heading into the second session with 10.5 points.  Penn State is leading the team race with 15.5 points, while Nebraska is second with 14 points.

125 | #3 Drake Ayala (Iowa) major dec. #30 Elijah Griffin (CBU), 10-2
133 | #15 Brody Teske (Iowa) major dec. #18 Derick Cardinal (SDSU), 12-4
141 | #3 Real Woods (Iowa) tech. fall #30 Kai Owen (Columbia), 15-0
149 | #20 Jordan Williams (OK State) dec. #13 Caleb Rathjen (Iowa), 12-5
157 | #10 Jared Franek (Iowa) dec. #23 Joey Blaze (Purdue), 2-2 TB1
165 | #6 Michael Caliendo (Iowa) major dec. #27 Blaine Brenner (Minnesota), 11-2
174 | #21 Tyler Eischens (UNC) dec. #12 Patrick Kennedy (Iowa), 9-7
197 | #26 Andy Smith (Virginia Tech) dec. #7 Zach Glazier (Iowa), 4-1 SV1
285 | #25 Bradley Hill (Iowa) dec. #8 Owen Trephan (NC State), 4-2

125 | #3 Drake Ayala (Iowa) vs Nico Provo (Stanford)
133 | #15 Brody Teske (Iowa) vs. Ryan Crookham (Lehigh)
141 | #3 Real Woods (Iowa) vs. Jesse Vasquez (Arizona State)
157 | #10 Jared Franek (Iowa) vs. Peyten Kellar (Ohio)
165 | #6 Michael Caliendo (Iowa) vs. Noah Mulvaney (Bucknell)
285 | #25 Bradley Hill vs. #9 Nick Feldman (Ohio State)

149 | # 13 Caleb Rathjen (Iowa) vs. Alek Martin (South Dakota St)
174 | #12 Patrick Kennedy (Iowa) vs. Philip Conigliaro (Harvard)
197 | #7 Zach Glazier (Iowa) vs. Luke Geog (Ohio State)

Session II of the 2023 NCAA Championships will begin at 6 p.m. (CT) and it will be televised live on ESPN.