Four Hawkeyes Named All-Big Ten

May 13, 2004

ANN ARBOR, MI – Four University of Iowa softball players were named to the 2004 All-Big Ten teams today. Natalie Johnson, Stacy May, Lisa Birocci and Emily Gerlick were each honored by the Big Ten for their play this season.

Johnson, a sophomore, was named to the first team as an outfielder. The Burlington native hit .284 in conference play with nine RBIs and scored a league-best 17 runs. Overall, Johnson leads the Hawkeyes with a .304 average,

May, a sophomore, was named to the second team as a shortstop. The Reno, NV, native was second in the conference with 24 hits and had a .369 batting average in Big Ten play. May is third on the team with a .297 average.

Birocci was named to the second team as a pitcher. The junior from Des Moines was 11-3 with a 0.87 ERA in conference play. She leads the Big Ten with an Iowa single-season record 283 strikeouts, along with a league-best 113 strikeouts in conference play.

Gerlick, a sophomore from Wonder Lake, IL, was named to the third team as a second baseman. She leads the Big Ten with five triples and two three-baggers in conference play. She also hit .288 with nine RBIs in the Big Ten season.

Third-seeded Iowa opens the Big Ten tournament against Ohio State Friday at 11 a.m. (CDT).


Jenna Hall, SO, Illinois 1B

Tiffany Haas, SO, Michigan 2B

Grace Leutele, SO, Michigan 3B

Jessica Merchant, JR, Michigan SS

Monica Schock, SR, Michigan C

Jessica Beech, SR, Michigan State UT

Natalie Johnson, JR, Iowa OF

Angel Merren, SR, Michigan State OF

Erin Mobley, JR, Northwestern OF

Garland Cooper, FR, Northwestern DP

Amanda Fortune, SR, Illinois P

*Nicole Motycka, JR, Michigan P


Jennifer Olds, SR, Michigan 1B

Carri Leto, SR, Northwestern 2B

Kristen Amegin, SO, Northwestern 3B

Stacy May, SO, Iowa SS

Tory Yamaguchi, FR, Indiana C

Kristi DeVries, SR, Ohio State UT

Abby Stark, SR, Indiana OF

Meghan Wolfer, FR, Penn State OF

Angela Knight, SR, Purdue OF

Jennifer Williams, FR, Penn State DP

Lisa Birocci, JR, Iowa P

Eileen Canney, FR, Northwestern P


Natalie Furrow, SR, Michigan State 1B

Emily Gerlick, SO, Iowa 2B

Erin Jones, SR, Illinois 3B

Lindsey Hamma, SR, Illinois SS

Boo Gillette, JR, Wisconsin C

Jamee Juarez, FR, Ohio State UT

Rachelle Coriddi, SO, Illinois OF

Karisa Evans, JR, Ohio State OF

Leigh Murray, SO, Penn State OF

Dayna Feenstra, FR, Michigan State DP

Piper Marten, SR, Minnesota P

Jennie Ritter, SO, Michigan P

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jessica Merchant, Michigan

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Nicole Motycka, Michigan

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Eileen Canney, Northwestern

COACH OF THE YEAR: Carol Hutchins, Michigan

* – Unanimous selection